SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

8 Pages V « < 6 7 8  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> URLs not reported, SC finds, but does not offer to LART!
SpamCopAdmin
post Jul 14 2008, 03:58 AM
Post #141


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: SpamCop Staff
Posts: 695
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 138



QUOTE(ankman @ Jul 13 2008, 10:04 AM) *
ISP has indicated spam will cease
That only applies for 24 hours, at which time SpamCop will resume sending reports if there is fresh spam. It's designed to allow an abuse desk to flag an IP with us as "being fixed" in order to give them relief from a flood of reports while they work on the problem.

In this case, the time has expired and you can send reports again.

I removed the "innocent bystander" flag from the fanbridge.com web URLs. SpamCop will send reports about them now.

User's Tracking URL:

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2063702686z8...725445a2e0f27bz

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolorite
post Jul 16 2008, 08:42 AM
Post #142


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 14-July 08
Member No.: 8843



Hi there, Wazoo referred me to this topic, I too have received some fanbridge.com spams recently and have been frustrated in attempting to report them. Since no reports were generated, I don't have tracking URLs for them, though it appears that the spams I received were from members of fanbridge, rather than being unwillingly registered myself. I have unblocked the addresses from my various email accounts, and if I receive any more, I'll submit them.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ahoier
post Jul 16 2008, 12:18 PM
Post #143


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 2-July 07
From: Florida
Member No.: 7911



spam aside, have you attempted to contact www.fanbridge.com? I know some of these "social networks" have "Let us have your e-mail address and password and we'll tell all your FRIENDS that you're here!" features...

Perhaps this is the case, one of your "friends" has/had your address within their "address book" - and when they signed up for fanbridge, perhaps they have a similar "feature" - decided to give this site their e-mail address and password, and you are receiving this unwanted mail from "FanBridge" on-behalf of your "friends".

I got hit by this from some "yearbook" site a while back, I clicked the unsubscribe/opt out link (yes, I know many anti-spam resources say NOT to.....but in some cases, the opt-out/unsubscribe link does actually work) and haven't heard anything since from this yearbook/social networking site....

I wish sites that had features like this would actually tell me what "friend" is "inviting" me to their service.


But this is just one consideration to take.

Based on the domain registration of fanbridge.com, siteadvisor reviews, alexa, aboutus ratings, etc. it does seem like a "legit" site...but they just need some lessons in unsolicited e-mailing (IMG:style_emoticons/default/tongue.gif)


And well, seeing as how the parsed report does show the mail being sent from an IP traced back to the site, atleast we know it's not some infected or otherwise "bulletproof hosting" provider in russia/india....


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolorite
post Jul 17 2008, 01:36 PM
Post #144


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 14-July 08
Member No.: 8843



Hi ahoier, no, I know exactly where my several addresses were harvested from, one place being a mailing list - I have mentioned my concerns to the list owner as that is a TOS violation; the others from Usenet, but there were also pretty specific addresses for the groups. Not much I can do about that, but that is one reason why I only used Yahoo addresses for Usenet. Funny that I hadn't posted anything for a good long while, but the addresses still were harvested...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dolorite
post Jul 17 2008, 03:58 PM
Post #145


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8
Joined: 14-July 08
Member No.: 8843



Just a follow-up, I have received another spam from fanbridge.com, letting me know that I have been added to the DJ Sharon fan list, aren't I lucky. And such careful instructions on how to add DJ Sharon to my "Safe Senders List" (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

Tracking URL:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2076050906z8...436c3bbec150f1z

"ISP has indicated spam will cease; ISP resolved this issue sometime after Wednesday, July 16, 2008 8:32:18 AM -0400"

Erm, apparently not.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wazoo
post Jul 17 2008, 05:22 PM
Post #146


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Forum Admin
Posts: 12536
Joined: 22-January 04
From: Iowa
Member No.: 18



QUOTE(dolorite @ Jul 17 2008, 03:58 PM) *
"ISP has indicated spam will cease; ISP resolved this issue sometime after Wednesday, July 16, 2008 8:32:18 AM -0400"

Erm, apparently not.

Just noting that this same outfit, same situation has been posted over in the newsgroups today. Unfortunately, cross-posted into spamcop.routing and spamcop.help .... the first newsgroup not being the correct place as the post was a general bitch, rather than an actual routing change request with data provided. The second newsgroup isn't actually seen by a lot of folks, as it had been removed from the Help page at www.spamcop.net years ago.
[Scrouting] Deputies : Fanbridge misusing "isp resolved" status multiple times Ismo Salonen
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
fanbridge
post Aug 21 2008, 11:50 PM
Post #147


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 5
Joined: 29-March 08
Member No.: 8619



QUOTE(Wazoo @ Jul 17 2008, 06:22 PM) *
Just noting that this same outfit, same situation has been posted over in the newsgroups today. Unfortunately, cross-posted into spamcop.routing and spamcop.help .... the first newsgroup not being the correct place as the post was a general bitch, rather than an actual routing change request with data provided. The second newsgroup isn't actually seen by a lot of folks, as it had been removed from the Help page at www.spamcop.net years ago.
[Scrouting] Deputies : Fanbridge misusing "isp resolved" status multiple times Ismo Salonen

Hi,
I am replying in this and the other thread with the same message. The incidents mentioned were from multiple accounts in our system all created by the same user (which is how the same email address was on multiple lists as we do not facilitate sharing of lists at all). All of that user's accounts were promptly disabled as soon as we saw the heightened level of complaints.

Sincerely,
Mark Brooks
FanBridge.com
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

8 Pages V « < 6 7 8
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 03:10 PM