SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [Resolved] Reporting address for IP block 92.46.53.0/24, Needs updating
mrmaxx
post Nov 5 2009, 08:52 AM
Post #1


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 407
Joined: 13-February 04
From: Dalton, GA
Member No.: 369



Tracking URL: http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z3470856709zd...f0403e8c38a149z

Spamcop will not report to the only email address in the whois listing. Abuse.net has a couple other email addresses, one of which SpamCop *will* report to... abuse[at]telecom.kz I would recommend that SpamCop hard-code that email address or do a lookup against the abuse.net whois database.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
StevenUnderwood
post Nov 5 2009, 12:06 PM
Post #2


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 5141
Joined: 20-January 04
From: Whitinsville, MA USA
Member No.: 12



QUOTE(mrmaxx @ Nov 5 2009, 08:52 AM) *

Tracking URL: http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z3470856709zd...f0403e8c38a149z

Spamcop will not report to the only email address in the whois listing. Abuse.net has a couple other email addresses, one of which SpamCop *will* report to... abuse[at]telecom.kz I would recommend that SpamCop hard-code that email address or do a lookup against the abuse.net whois database.

Looking up abuse.net is the normal way things work, so there must be an override in place. It is possible that there was evidence of whitelisting or similar and this was the solution.


--------------------
Steven P. Underwood, DNRC
Whitinsville, MA
underwood+forum[at]spamcop.net

-No trees were killed in the sending of this message. However, a large number of electrons were terribly inconvenienced.-
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Farelf
post Nov 5 2009, 12:57 PM
Post #3


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 3871
Joined: 23-February 04
From: Western Australia
Member No.: 491



QUOTE(StevenUnderwood @ Nov 6 2009, 01:06 AM) *
Looking up abuse.net is the normal way things work, so there must be an override in place. It is possible that there was evidence of whitelisting or similar and this was the solution.
Clarifying that abuse.net lookup is a possible early stage of manual intervention, not that the parser uses it - ref http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=5493 and following (I assume that is still current).


--------------------
Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpamCopAdmin
post Nov 5 2009, 12:57 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: SpamCop Staff
Posts: 695
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 138



Fixed.

Thanks for the info.

I don't know why SpamCop wasn't going to Abuse.net for an address. Pretty strange.

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st November 2009 - 02:51 PM