SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Source IP not found :(, Sorry to bother but cannot find a solution!!
giorgosh
post Jul 12 2010, 04:42 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



I have registered to spamcop months ago and recently notticed that when i was submitting emails from Outlook through SpamSource, i was always getting Source IP not found error.. For a while i thought it had to do with the emails i report,e however i realized soon that i was actually not reporting anything (IMG:style_emoticons/default/ph34r.gif)

So i decided to re-register my email from the beginning, received the account configuration email, but when i pasted the data it requested at the mhreturn page i was always gtting "Source IP not found" error and cannot sort out a solution to that! I am sure i am correctly copying the hearers from View/Options menu, and copy/pasting the whole message to the second field of mhreturn page. BUT same error appears all the time..

My email domain is my company's name/domain, which is hosted to an ISP, while the ISP i am using to surf the Internet is a different one.. Has this anything to do with the errors i'm getting ???
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpamCopAdmin
post Jul 12 2010, 06:34 AM
Post #2


Been There
Group Icon

Group: SpamCop Staff
Posts: 1548
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 138



QUOTE
copy/pasting the whole message to the second field of mhreturn page
The bottom box is for the body text only. Try pasting the headers into the top box and the body into the second box, or paste the whole thing into the top box.

QUOTE
"Source IP not found" error
The error message will tell you exactly what the problem is. You may need to enable "Show Technical Details" in the "Report Handling" section of your "Preferences."

If you will send me your login username (email address) I will be happy to look into this for you.

Do NOT post your username here in public!

Email me directly at: service[at]admin.spamcop.net


- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
giorgosh
post Jul 12 2010, 07:03 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



Emailed you all the details so please reply back when you got any news. This is the full msg i am getting:

Source IP not found.

Your email host does not appear to correctly identify the sending IP of
the email you receive.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
turetzsr
post Jul 12 2010, 12:31 PM
Post #4


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 4930
Joined: 26-January 04
From: Michigan USA
Member No.: 59



Hi, giorgosh!
...Sorry to hear of your problem!
...No doubt Don D'Minion will be able to help you. However, I thought I'd drop in my two cents with a way you could have found out more about this error:
  • Near the top of almost any SpamCop Forum page, look for a text-entry field between a white button labeled "Search for -->" and a blue button labeled "GO."
  • Type in the string "Your email host does not appear to correctly identify the sending IP of the email you receive" (including the quote marks) then press either of the buttons.
  • Peruse the list of SpamCop posts that are returned.


--------------------
..Regards,
...Steve T

...A Happy SpamCop.net reporting user (not an employee)
...Please avoid replying via e-mail, as it is not secure
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
giorgosh
post Jul 13 2010, 01:41 AM
Post #5


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



QUOTE(turetzsr @ Jul 12 2010, 08:31 PM) *
  • Near the top of almost any SpamCop Forum page, look for a text-entry field between a white button labeled "Search for -->" and a blue button labeled "GO."
  • Type in the string "Your email host does not appear to correctly identify the sending IP of the email you receive" (including the quote marks) then press either of the buttons.
  • Peruse the list of SpamCop posts that are returned.

Thank you for your suggestion, however i actually did several searches prior to posting my question since i like respecting forum rules. Therefore, the answer i received was:

"Source IP not found.
Problem: Your email host does not appear to correctly identify the sending IP of the email you receive. Issues thus far seem to be based on the user's hosting ISP changing their servers around, moving to new IP addresses, changing server names, ading new backup systems, etc. In one example, the issues was a mis-configuration of an inserted header line, specifically "the lack of whitespace between the server name and the square brackets around the IP address"


None of the above exists, however i decided to try the suggested solution below:

Solution: Re-run the MailHost configuration process to add in these new/changed servers/addresses. Veify that the resulting spam parsing results are successful and correct. Problems not "fixed" at this point .. see the first entry for escalation."

I re-run it, as i noticed on my first post, however i keep getting the same errors.. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
giorgosh
post Jul 13 2010, 02:27 AM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



Here is a link:

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z4247747896ze...102a5bf85e52b2z
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wazoo
post Jul 13 2010, 04:00 AM
Post #7


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Forum Admin
Posts: 13194
Joined: 22-January 04
From: Iowa
Member No.: 18



QUOTE(giorgosh @ Jul 13 2010, 02:27 AM) *

Although there's a line or two I'm not sure about (specifically the first and the third [thread-index) .. the most glaring issue is the lack of blank lines betwen the header and body. However, even ignoring that, there actually isn't an IP Address provided anywhere in your sample header. No way the parser can get around that problem.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
giorgosh
post Jul 13 2010, 09:51 AM
Post #8


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



What do you suggest then?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
turetzsr
post Jul 13 2010, 01:46 PM
Post #9


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 4930
Joined: 26-January 04
From: Michigan USA
Member No.: 59



QUOTE(giorgosh @ Jul 13 2010, 10:51 AM) *
What do you suggest then?
...The SpamCop parser is very good but can't handle everything. I'd suggest forwarding it to the SpamCop Deputies (deputies[at]admin.spamcop.net) in case they wish to analyze it further, then deleting it.


--------------------
..Regards,
...Steve T

...A Happy SpamCop.net reporting user (not an employee)
...Please avoid replying via e-mail, as it is not secure
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
giorgosh
post Jul 14 2010, 01:19 AM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 12-July 10
Member No.: 9962



I have done that and contacted the admins but keep getting the above error... I cannot identify whether the error comes from my submissions or my ISP' settings... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wazoo
post Jul 14 2010, 02:04 AM
Post #11


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Forum Admin
Posts: 13194
Joined: 22-January 04
From: Iowa
Member No.: 18



QUOTE(giorgosh @ Jul 14 2010, 01:19 AM) *
I have done that and contacted the admins but keep getting the above error... I cannot identify whether the error comes from my submissions or my ISP' settings... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif)

At this point, I'm not even sure what your actual query is about. You started with and Posting into the MialHost Configuration of your Reporting Account. However, you then Posted a Tracking URL of an apparent spam e-mail.

I pointed ut the lack of any IP Address within that provided sample, but .... neither you or Don has said anything about the conversations betwween yourselves, which assumedly would have been about the MailHost Configuration issue, but would also seem like that would include the issue of the lack of correct data-stamping by the ISP involved .... yet, at this point, I'm not even clear that this is the actual situation.

http://www.mxtoolbox.com/SuperTool.aspx?action=mx%3ahamed.gr does show MX data;
Pref Hostname IP Address TTL
0 hamed.gr 194.219.79.146 2 hrs

However, this doesn't actually state whether this would be the missing IP Address or not.

Is this even the e-mail providing ISP at all?

So, I'm back to asking .. is it justReporting Filures that you are asking about, or is it that the MailHost Condiguration tool doesn't work (and again, I'm having to guess because of the same issue, but ...???) This seems to be something Don would see in just a second or two, so confused why you two haven't come together with an answer, if not a solution by now. Yet another one of those frustrating things where things going on outside the Forum don't get documented within the Forum. The question now would be, what has Don told you in those conversations?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd April 2014 - 08:44 AM