The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.
![]() ![]() |
| Ex_Brit |
Oct 16 2009, 06:10 AM
Post
#1
|
|
Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Membera Posts: 311 Joined: 21-February 04 From: Toronto, Canada. Member No.: 466 |
Is this email genuine? From the administrator[at]Cesmail.net?
QUOTE Attention! On October 16, 2009 server upgrade will take place. Due to this the system may be offline for approximately half an hour. The changes will concern security, reliability and performance of mail service and the system as a whole. For compatibility of your browsers and mail clients with upgraded server software you should run SSl certificates update procedure. This procedure is quite simple. All you have to do is just to click the link provided, to save the patch file and then to run it from your computer location. That's all. http://updates.cesmail.net.secure.cert-ser...t-patch022.aspx Thank you in advance for your attention to this matter and sorry for possible inconveniences. System Administrator I xx'd out some details in the link provided, however my question is also why does that original link give me an "Oops the link appears to be broken" type result? Do I really have to click on the link in each browser I use on all four of my OS's if and when it works? -------------------- Peter
Vista Ultimate SP2 + Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SC Mail Subscriber Microsoft MVP Award 2009 Consumer Security ![]() |
| Telarin |
Oct 16 2009, 08:05 AM
Post
#2
|
|
Advanced Member Group: Memberp Posts: 803 Joined: 30-November 05 Member No.: 4882 |
Since the domain provided in the link is cert-services.net, which appears to have no affiliation with spamcop of cesmail, I would say that this email is DEFINITELY not legitimate.
One also has to wonder why you would need to install a program in order to access a website, another good sign that the message is not legit. -------------------- Will Russell, MCP
IT Specialist Galveston Insurance Associates |
| Ex_Brit |
Oct 16 2009, 08:28 AM
Post
#3
|
|
Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Membera Posts: 311 Joined: 21-February 04 From: Toronto, Canada. Member No.: 466 |
I thought so, but just thought I'd see if anyone else received it. It apears some spammer is targetting cesmail.net yet again.
Thankfully that link is a dud. I have enough protection installed to ensure clicking on it would not bring me grief. -------------------- Peter
Vista Ultimate SP2 + Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SC Mail Subscriber Microsoft MVP Award 2009 Consumer Security ![]() |
| Farelf |
Oct 16 2009, 12:59 PM
Post
#4
|
|
T-shirt wearing out Group: Membersph Posts: 3871 Joined: 23-February 04 From: Western Australia Member No.: 491 |
I thought so, but just thought I'd see if anyone else received it. ... It appears a few McAfee Site Advisor reporters are warning of recent phishing and exploits associated with cert-services.net. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif) -------------------- Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
|
| Ex_Brit |
Oct 16 2009, 01:37 PM
Post
#5
|
|
Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Membera Posts: 311 Joined: 21-February 04 From: Toronto, Canada. Member No.: 466 |
Interesting. Thanks.
-------------------- Peter
Vista Ultimate SP2 + Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SC Mail Subscriber Microsoft MVP Award 2009 Consumer Security ![]() |
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 05:53 AM |