SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> [Resolved] Intermittent and hard to identify blocking
nuddicrous
post Oct 28 2009, 09:39 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 28-October 09
Member No.: 9659



We're experiencing a strange situation with our client's e-mail accounts, in that they are being intermittently blocked by spamcop because the addresses 'do not exist'. A popular ISP in the area is using the reputable spamcop software, and I was wondering how spamcop determines that addresses might not exist (when they clearly do).

Here is the failure response message that the ISP's outbound server generates:

The following message to <webtech[at]emmatt.com> was undeliverable.
The reason for the problem:
5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-'found in bl.spamcop.net'
Reporting-MTA: dns; fipsb03.cogeco.net

Final-Recipient: rfc822;webtech[at]emmatt.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0 (permanent failure)
Remote-MTA: dns; [67.222.96.155]
Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-'found in bl.spamcop.net' (delivery attempts: 0)



Our mail servers are primarily at mail.emmatt.com, on a shared server. The address listed is my own, and definitely exists... however, this happens on numerous accounts under the same hosting server, with different domains. Everyone who uses this popular ISP reports this intermittent issue when trying to contact us or our clients.

Could someone shed some light on this? Thanks in advance.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Derek T
post Oct 28 2009, 10:24 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 492
Joined: 25-January 04
From: Jersey in the Channel Islands
Member No.: 54



QUOTE(nuddicrous @ Oct 28 2009, 03:39 PM) *
Could someone shed some light on this? Thanks in advance.

Not without an IP to work with, no. The one in the rejection has never sent email so that can't be it.

First guess: a badly configured server blaming scbl when the error is 'no such address'


--------------------
hth
Derek T

Not a SpamCop employee, just a happy customer!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpamCopAdmin
post Oct 28 2009, 10:26 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: SpamCop Staff
Posts: 695
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 138



QUOTE(nuddicrous @ Oct 28 2009, 08:39 AM) *
Reporting-MTA: dns; fipsb03.cogeco.net
fipsb03.cogeco.net = 216.221.81.29 = smtp2.cogeco.ca

216.221.81.29 has been sending spam and going on and off the SpamCop blocking list for some time now.

It is not currently on the list. I see that we removed it from our list on Tuesday, October 20, 2009. No spam from it has hit our system since, so I'm thinking that Cogeco found and fixed the problem.

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 05:30 AM