SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Orange webmail is blocked
jeje68
post Nov 3 2009, 05:53 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-November 09
Member No.: 9669



Many orange-wanadoo customers complain that they're blocked by Spamcop.
When examining the headers, I can't find any server IP.
mwinf2201.orange.fr has no reverse DNS...

What can we do about it ?

Here's an example :
Return-Path: <>
Received: from mwinf2201.orange.fr (mwinf2201.orange.fr)
by mwinb7404 (SMTP Server) with LMTP; Mon, 02 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100
X-Sieve: Server Sieve 2.2
X-Bcc: "loc: requested length %ld"
Received: from me-wanadoo.net (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mwinf2201.orange.fr (SMTP Server) with ESMTP id B121C1C00096
for <o22000000000000000115105016[at]back74-mail02-02.me-wanadoo.net>; Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
Received: by mwinf2201.orange.fr (SMTP Server)
id 9DFC01C0009E; Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
Date: Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
X-ME-UUID: 20091102131017381.5D0751C00096[at]mwinf2201.orange.fr
From: MAILER-DAEMON[at]orange.fr (Mail Delivery System)
Subject: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender
To: (masked)
Auto-Submitted: auto-replied
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;
boundary="7DED71C00096.1257167417/orange.fr"
Message-Id: <20091102131017.9DFC01C0009E[at]mwinf2201.orange.fr>
X-me-spamlevel: not-spam
X-me-spamrating: 38.400002
X-me-spamcause: OK, (- 40)(0000)gggruggvucftvghtrhhoucdtuddrvdekiedrudeiucetggdotefuucfrrhhofhhilhgvmec
uoffgnecuuegrihhlohhuthemuceftddtnecutehtthgrtghhuchhvggruggvrhculddqhedtmdenufh
prghmjfgvrgguvghrhfhivghlugcujfgvrgguvghrucfutghorhhinhhgucdluddtmd


This is the mail system at host mwinf2201.orange.fr.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<masked>: host smtp.calixo.net[masked] said: 553 sorry, your
mailserver is rejected by see http://spamcop.net (in reply to MAIL FROM
command)

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Derek T
post Nov 3 2009, 06:27 AM
Post #2


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 492
Joined: 25-January 04
From: Jersey in the Channel Islands
Member No.: 54



QUOTE(jeje68 @ Nov 3 2009, 11:53 AM) *
Many orange-wanadoo customers complain that they're blocked by Spamcop.
When examining the headers, I can't find any server IP.
mwinf2201.orange.fr has no reverse DNS...

What can we do about it ?

According to Senderbase that domain maps to 63 smtp servers. Without the specific IP there is very little any of us can do. The rejection message is malformed (in that it should contain the IP). Do you have another example from a different recipient, perhaps?


--------------------
hth
Derek T

Not a SpamCop employee, just a happy customer!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeje68
post Nov 3 2009, 06:39 AM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-November 09
Member No.: 9669



QUOTE(Derek T @ Nov 3 2009, 06:27 AM) *
According to Senderbase that domain maps to 63 smtp servers. Without the specific IP there is very little any of us can do. The rejection message is malformed (in that it should contain the IP). Do you have another example from a different recipient, perhaps?

That's my problem. Every mailer-daemon I get does not contain the sender ip. Maybe because the orange webmail is a bit strange...

Where can I find the list of the 63 smtp servers ?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Telarin
post Nov 3 2009, 09:01 AM
Post #4


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-November 05
Member No.: 4882



The rejection message is generated by the receiving server and would have nothing to do with the orange-wanadoo system setup. However, even if you know the IP address, there is going to be little to nothing you as a user can do about it. This is something that their mail system management team would have to address to solve.

The fact that there is a spamcop listing for some of their servers indicates either they have a major configuration problem causing their SMTP servers to send backscatter, they have a customer sending a large volume of spam through their SMTP servers, or they have a security breach allowing a spammer outside their network to relay through their SMTP servers. Either way, it is a problem that their support will have to resolve in order to get delisted.


--------------------
Will Russell, MCP
IT Specialist
Galveston Insurance Associates
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Farelf
post Nov 3 2009, 10:41 AM
Post #5


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 3871
Joined: 23-February 04
From: Western Australia
Member No.: 491



QUOTE(Telarin @ Nov 3 2009, 10:01 PM) *
...The fact that there is a spamcop listing for some of their servers indicates either they have a major configuration problem causing their SMTP servers to send backscatter, they have a customer sending a large volume of spam through their SMTP servers, or they have a security breach allowing a spammer outside their network to relay through their SMTP servers. Either way, it is a problem that their support will have to resolve in order to get delisted.
I agree with those comments. Some of the IP addresses that have been in the SCbl recently:

193.252.23.25, 193.252.23.26, 193.252.22.118, 193.252.23.120, 193.252.22.121, 193.252.22.128, 193.252.22.151, 193.252.22.152, 193.252.22.159, 193.252.23.171, 193.252.22.173, 193.252.22.190, 193.252.22.191, 193.252.22.192, 193.252.23.196, 193.252.23.197, 193.252.23.198, 193.252.23.199

(SenderBase -> bl.spamcop.net)

It looks to me like no more than 2 or 3 of these are listed at any given time - I suppose it could be a type of spammer 'snowshoe' operation. Typically abuse[at]orange.fr would have been receiving reports throughout but probably not a great number of them, it seems.


--------------------
Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wazoo
post Nov 3 2009, 03:19 PM
Post #6


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Forum Admin
Posts: 12536
Joined: 22-January 04
From: Iowa
Member No.: 18



QUOTE(jeje68 @ Nov 3 2009, 05:39 AM) *
That's my problem. Every mailer-daemon I get does not contain the sender ip. Maybe because the orange webmail is a bit strange...

In your initial post, the dialog included the phrase It's attached below. The outgoing server involved should be within those headers (although admitting that there's a chance that some assumptions may be wrong.) Another way to troubleshoot this is to try again, but include a CC: address to another account elsewhere, say a Yahoo or HotMail account and see if it gets there ... use that e-mail to identify the outgoing server. Then someone could take a look at the specific that may be available on that server.
QUOTE
Where can I find the list of the 63 smtp servers ?

http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...tring=orange.fr

As Telarin states, there isn't much you can do directly to "fix" the immediate problem beyond complaining to your ISP/Host and/or using another e-mail provider in the interim. However, identifying the outgoing server involved may help in developing a better complaint.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jeje68
post Nov 4 2009, 04:39 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-November 09
Member No.: 9669



Thanks for your answers.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 05:11 AM