The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.
![]() ![]() |
| A.J.Mechelynck |
Jan 30 2012, 07:55 PM
Post
#1
|
|
Advanced Member ![]() ![]() ![]() Group: Membera Posts: 197 Joined: 28-March 04 From: Schaerbeek (near Brussels, Belgium) Member No.: 908 |
spam from gmail to gmail cannot be reported: "No source IP address found, cannot proceed".
See example at http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z5238498027z4...e91c744df9d4c8z -------------------- Best regards,
Tony |
| Farelf |
Jan 30 2012, 09:21 PM
Post
#2
|
|
What Life? Group: Membersph Posts: 5771 Joined: 23-February 04 From: Western Australia Member No.: 491 |
Hi Tony,
Yes, all handling is internal with non-unique IP addresses. Abuse reports need to go through Google's own reporting process. Discussed in http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=10599 - and others. Steve -------------------- Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
|
| Peace Freak |
Sep 26 2012, 09:36 PM
Post
#3
|
|
Newbie ![]() Group: Members Posts: 6 Joined: 26-September 12 Member No.: 10922 |
I am getting this message when I try reporting a spam. It always is from the same person:
No source IP address found, cannot proceed. Can anyone suggest what the problem might be? Here is the header from my email client: doctor g <cococo26[at]gmail.com> To: doctor g <cococo26[at]gmail.com> Bcc: A D <REMOVED...> Delivered-To: d1a2m3i4e5n6[at]gmail.com Received: by 10.76.10.227 with SMTP id l3csp46281oab; Wed, 26 Sep 2012 19:01:34 -0700 (PDT) Received: from mr.google.com ([10.58.86.36]) by 10.58.86.36 with SMTP id m4mr1881885vez.14.1348711293760 (num_hops = 1); Wed, 26 Sep 2012 19:01:33 -0700 (PDT) Received: by 10.58.86.36 with SMTP id m4mr1463878vez.14.1348711293555; Wed, 26 Sep 2012 19:01:33 -0700 (PDT) Received: by 10.58.32.225 with HTTP; Wed, 26 Sep 2012 19:01:33 -0700 (PDT) Return-Path: <cococo26[at]gmail.com> Received-Spf: pass (google.com: domain of cococo26[at]gmail.com designates 10.58.86.36 as permitted sender) client-ip=10.58.86.36 Authentication-Results: mr.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of cococo26[at]gmail.com designates 10.58.86.36 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=cococo26[at]gmail.com; dkim=pass header.i=cococo26[at]gmail.com Dkim-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=20120113; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:date:message-id:subject:from:to :content-type; bh=cOQNeLPLh2uBUxwYXRe9z2TbP1a9m1HTS6SZAC9yRjU=; b=OucGoaOaBj56LHp+c/tdKJ1SvZZaX9LzZw8cvaEE3m9owtwZatHyVVcf9foK9eeWM4 Kd6eXdaKT+9qhjt5m03it9RHl4izf5YfXOXfk0Pqm3erQ0GBh7FuUqOW4W34AzMn2S/8 gsn2LXv/8XdefLV7pUUJCljoWD7dnO+mgR9pBTOgBlBb4BiCXwqL64I++BDKYIuYuKOM lX/2sL9OjyyWsj3/fyIXdC+WslUxjit5skPmxz5UsKUAnDshngCMPQCXzi9BXt8LD61D teMWdlzTbKlybxR9CtEdrpWu1mhvDTt5Zq4SeQjOLt5ZcW92Vq+TcThs75MC7BTtIloi Szlw== Mime-Version: 1.0 In-Reply-To: <75599D17009E47EBAB5F7B40757FFD59[at]inspiron> References: <75599D17009E47EBAB5F7B40757FFD59[at]inspiron> Message-Id: <CA+ak6d822bx_bnhF00V0wf+uXiObDC_KqKvhQjrAURLYn0NE2Q[at]mail.gmail.com> Content-Type: multipart/related; boundary=047d7b6d8d9e8e956b04caa551fd Fwd: Fw: How to get to Mars |
| DavidT |
Sep 26 2012, 10:39 PM
Post
#4
|
|
Been There Group: Memberp Posts: 2052 Joined: 28-January 04 Member No.: 63 |
It's probably because it's going from Gmail to Gmail, and so it using their internal server IPs, all starting with "10.etc." -- those aren't going to parse.
But, looking at what you're trying to report, it would seem just some sort of annoying messages from an annoying sender, perhaps, as opposed to the kind of "spam" that most of us would be reporting (pharma, phishing, etc.). Perhaps you could simply filter this person in your Gmail and be done with it? Or forward their messages directly to Google's abuse department? DT |
| Peace Freak |
Sep 27 2012, 09:45 AM
Post
#5
|
|
Newbie ![]() Group: Members Posts: 6 Joined: 26-September 12 Member No.: 10922 |
Thanks David for taking the time to let me know the reason.
Annoying sender, yes! I dislike any spam! I will look into reporting such spam directly to gmail. Cheers! It's probably because it's going from Gmail to Gmail, and so it using their internal server IPs, all starting with "10.etc." -- those aren't going to parse. But, looking at what you're trying to report, it would seem just some sort of annoying messages from an annoying sender, perhaps, as opposed to the kind of "spam" that most of us would be reporting (pharma, phishing, etc.). Perhaps you could simply filter this person in your Gmail and be done with it? Or forward their messages directly to Google's abuse department? DT |
| DavidT |
Sep 27 2012, 10:02 AM
Post
#6
|
|
Been There Group: Memberp Posts: 2052 Joined: 28-January 04 Member No.: 63 |
You're welcome. To me, not all unwanted email rises to the level of "spam," but as they say, YMMV. For example, there are several SpamCop reporters who appear to have agreed to receive email from various political entities (perhaps only implicitly, by supplying an email address on a petition and not reading the fine print), and then instead of unsubscribing, they report it as spam. I'm seeing a number of those email campaigns winding up in my "Held" folder, and when the sending IPs are on the SCBL, I sometimes take a look to see if it's due to report, spamtrap hits, or both.
This week, I've seen a server (from a source I have subscribed to) being listed on the SCBL for the last 46 hours due to a handful of reports from what appears to be only two reporters. I would prefer *not* to have the deliverability of messages from that organization reduced due to the apparently laziness of two SpamCop reporters, who should have simply unsubscribed. I think they're guilty of false reporting, and so I'm working with the company in question, providing information about this issue. My point is--lets all be careful NOT to report stuff that is NOT REALLY spam! DT This post has been edited by DavidT: Sep 27 2012, 10:03 AM |
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 19th May 2013 - 09:20 PM |