SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Blog comment spam and reporting spam
mediaslice
post Aug 18 2006, 05:01 AM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-August 06
Member No.: 6341



Hi,

I received some comment spam on my blog. I have various tools on my blog to stop spam, but out of curiosity I had a look at some of the spam comments I was receiving.

First of all I would like to ask why do people do it? Putting gibberish comments with some bizarre links in them? There doesn't seem to be any reason for doing it other than general annoyance. Also they get no SEO benefit from the links as all URLs in comments have the rel=nofollow. Everyone knows that Search Engine algorithms are far too sophisticated for pages to benefit from this old black-hat tactic of obtaining links.

Secondly I came across one URL in my comment spam and when clicked I was forwarded to the domain http://www.abusepost.com/ which appears to have been put up by SpamCop. The heading says "This site will be closed in five days for a comment and e-mail spam. If you have suffered from actions of this site, please, fill this form below."

The strange thing is that this page then asks for your name and email address. Is this a con just to get your email address and be spammed even more? Or is it genuinely trying to help.

When measuring the trust worthiness of a site I usually use two tools, Google page rank and Alexa page rank. However when I was forwarded to this domain there was 0 page rank and a high Alexa ranking, which leads me to believe it is an untrustworthy site.

Could this be another clever scam for the Spammers to obtain another valid email address??

If it a genuine page from SpamCop then I think it would be a good to take a leaf out Google's book. If you go to their spam reporting page http://www.google.com/contact/spamreport.html it doesn't ask for contact details, just report the problem.

I am new to this forum so any comments on this would be useful.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dra007
post Aug 18 2006, 07:31 AM
Post #2


Been There
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 1436
Joined: 18-March 04
Member No.: 777



SpamCop will never ask you for an e-mail address unless you willingly visit their site to register and configure your mailhosts for reporting. All spamcop web pages have spamcop.net in the name. Spamcop.com is another impersonator. What you describe sounds like a bogus, joejob/phisher attempt.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wazoo
post Aug 18 2006, 12:15 PM
Post #3


What Life?
Group Icon

Group: Forum Admin
Posts: 12892
Joined: 22-January 04
From: Iowa
Member No.: 18



Kicked an e-mail upstream to advise of some possible legal action by those pesky lawyers ....

Domain Name:abusepost.com
Record last updated at 2006-08-04 03:38:13
Record created on 2006/8/4
Record expired on 2007/8/4

Domain servers in listed order:
ns1.abusepost.com ns2.abusepost.com

Administrator:
Name-- John Smith
EMail-: (manager[at]abusepost.com)
tel --: +1.2024783654
org: Abuse Post Inc.
3520 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington,DC,US 20016

08/18/06 11:50:53 Slow traceroute www.abusepost.com
Trace www.abusepost.com (66.230.167.245) ...

Registrant:
John Smith manager[at]abusepost.com +1.2024783654
Abuse Post Inc.
3520 Wisconsin Ave NW
Washington,DC,US 20016

08/18/06 11:51:07 Browsing http://www.abusepost.com/
Fetching http://www.abusepost.com/ ...
<!-- saved from url=(0023)http://www.spamcop.net/ -->

Absolutely nothing to do with SpamCop.net other than this
person copied and then modified the HTML code for the
page layout ... even snagging, copying, and sourcing the
graphic images ....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SpamCopAdmin
post Aug 18 2006, 12:48 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: SpamCop Staff
Posts: 792
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 138



QUOTE(Wazoo @ Aug 18 2006, 11:15 AM) *

Kicked an e-mail upstream to advise of some possible legal action by those pesky lawyers ....

Thanks! I sent the info to our legal team.

Not the first time I've seen a site like that. Dunno if it's the same one or not.

- Don -
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
DavidT
post Aug 24 2006, 12:29 PM
Post #5


Been There
Group Icon

Group: Memberp
Posts: 1911
Joined: 28-January 04
Member No.: 63



The site is still up. I tried calling the phone number on the domain registration and got no answer (big surprise). The site is hosted by an Australian company, but the upstream IP is owned by ISPrime, Inc. in NYC.

DT

This post has been edited by DavidT: Aug 24 2006, 12:29 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
philr
post Aug 25 2006, 05:00 AM
Post #6


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 6411



I've recently been receiving comment spam through the feedback form in my website. Some (perhaps all) of the URLs in these messages are redirected to a website at abusecentral.org which claims to be affiliated with spamcop.net. Is this true, or is the site phishing for something?

Here's a sample of the comment spam:

QUOTE
Hello, nice site look this hmegatest:
<a href=http://www.blogsharing.com/hydrocodoneorde/>Hydrocodone order</a>
<a href=http://buyhydrocodoneonline.forumup.it>Buy hydrocodone online</a>
<a href=http://www.freewebs.com/phentermine-diet/>Phentermine diet</a>
<a href=http://temazepammedicat.forumup.it>Temazepam medication</a>
<a href=http://www.freewebs.com/online-order-phentermine/>Online order
phentermine</a>
<a
href=http://hydrocodonepre.xhostar.com/Hydrocodone_prescription.html>Hydrocodone
prescription</a>
<a href=http://www.freewebs.com/phentermine-diet/>Phentermine diet</a>
<a
href=http://15mgtemazepam.21publish.de/pub/15mgtemazepam/15_mg_temazepam.html>15
mg temazepam</a>
... etc...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
philr
post Aug 25 2006, 05:58 AM
Post #7


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 25-August 06
Member No.: 6411



QUOTE(philr @ Aug 25 2006, 11:00 AM) *

I've recently been receiving comment spam through the feedback form in my website. Some (perhaps all) of the URLs in these messages are redirected to a website at abusecentral.org which claims to be affiliated with spamcop.net. Is this true, or is the site phishing for something?

Here's a sample of the comment spam:

I just spotted this post which seems to suggest the site is fake. I'm not sure what the spammers are trying to achieve here, but I'll tell the webhost about it anyway.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Farelf
post Aug 25 2006, 06:11 AM
Post #8


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 4253
Joined: 23-February 04
From: Western Australia
Member No.: 491



QUOTE(philr @ Aug 25 2006, 06:58 PM) *
I just spotted this post which seems to suggest the site is fake. I'm not sure what the spammers are trying to achieve here, but I'll tell the webhost about it anyway.
Thanks philr, well spotted. Will merge your post with the other shortly.

[Topics merged and philr PM'd]


--------------------
Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Farelf
post Aug 26 2006, 09:36 AM
Post #9


T-shirt wearing out
Group Icon

Group: Membersph
Posts: 4253
Joined: 23-February 04
From: Western Australia
Member No.: 491



Spotted in the NGs, G|_|Y |V|AC0N's link to Spamhuntress blog on redirect to abusecentral: http://spamhuntress.com/2006/08/24/redirect-to-spamcop/


--------------------
Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2010 - 08:58 AM