SPAMCOP HOME · SPAMCOP FAQ · NEWSGROUPS · FORUM FAQ · WEBMAIL · SSL WEBMAIL · SPAMCOPWIKI


 Other words, data, places -->  SpamCop Pages V  FAQs & Words V  Newsgroups V  WebMail V  News-Recent Stuff V   Poll on menu

------>------> Latest and Current Announcements <------<------

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> This is a User to User Support Forum

The primary mode of support here is peer-to-peer, meaning users helping other users. (please remember this at all times!)
Another try:
This forum is composed of people who have used spamcop and those who are learning about anti-spam efforts.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Apparently I'm sending spam..., ...except I'm not.
James Cridland
post Mar 20 2004, 06:36 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 801



I was wondering why messages from this board are being blocked by bl.spamcop.net.

It turns out that my mailhost is: and the funny thing is, I've actually registered my mailhost in the VER system. 212.113.16.78 is my own mailhost, and it looks as if this is the one which is blocked; yet it is clearly shown in the 'mailhosts' system as being the mailhost for james[at]cridland.net.

Um... help?

QUOTE
Return-Path: <news[at]spamcop.net>
Delivered-To: spamcop-net-j4m3scr1dl4nd[at]spamcop.net
Received: (qmail 21256 invoked from network); 20 Mar 2004 23:29:38 -0000
Received: from unknown (192.168.1.101)
  by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:38 -0000
Received: from chillerton.linom.com (212.113.16.78)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:37 -0000
Received: from c60.cesmail.net (c60.cesmail.net [216.154.195.49])
by chillerton.linom.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id CF23AEB95F
for <james[at]cridland.net>; Sat, 20 Mar 2004 23:29:36 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from unknown (HELO blade1.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.211)
  by c60.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Mar 2004 18:29:36 -0500
Received: (qmail 21203 invoked from network); 20 Mar 2004 23:29:35 -0000
Received: from unknown (192.168.1.101)
  by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Received: from unknown (216.154.195.59)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Date: 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Message-ID: <20040320232934.9070.qmail[at]forum.cesmail.net>
To: james[at]cridland.net
Subject: Registration at SpamCop Discussion ( From SpamCop Discussion )
From: "SpamCop Discussion" <news[at]spamcop.net>
X-Priority: 3
X-Mailer: IPB PHP Mailer
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on blade1
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: hits=0.0 tests=none version=2.63
X-SpamCop-Checked: 192.168.1.101 212.113.16.78
X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked bl.spamcop.net



James Cridland,
This email has been sent from http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php.

You have received this email because this email address
was used during registration for our forums.
(snip)


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
WB8TYW
post Mar 20 2004, 07:19 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 191
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 141



Did you check:

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=212.113.16.78

QUOTE
A sample sent sometime during the 24 hours beginning Fri Mar 19 19:00:00 2004 -0500:
Received: from -.-.com (212.113.16.78)-
  by -.-.net with - - Mar 2004 - -
Subject: - want - meet new people - jewel
From: ki.. at ..l.com


Some one(s) has been reporting spam to be coming that I.P. address, but not much.

No spamtraps, and no listings anywhere else.

By chance did you accidentally report your own mail server?

-John
Personal Opinion Only
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
James Cridland
post Mar 20 2004, 07:21 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 801



I could have done, that's the thing: and I'm a little confused about how I could have done (bearing in mind I've registered my mailhosts correctly by the looks of things).

My mail server will be dealt with by abuse[at]level3.com and I did spot a few of those going through; mind, Level 3's a large company.

I'm confused as to how I managed this, though.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spambo
post Mar 20 2004, 07:24 PM
Post #4


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 293
Joined: 28-January 04
Member No.: 72



QUOTE(James Cridland @ Mar 20 2004, 05:36 PM)
I was wondering why messages from this board are being blocked by bl.spamcop.net.

It turns out that my mailhost is: and the funny thing is, I've actually registered my mailhost in the VER system. 212.113.16.78 is my own mailhost, and it looks as if this is the one which is blocked; yet it is clearly shown in the 'mailhosts' system as being the mailhost for james[at]cridland.net.

Um... help?

[snip]

The IP has also been reported at least 3 times today (Mar. 20) as being the source of spam.

If you're a paying reporting only customer you might check to see if the reports shown at http://members.spamcop.net/mcgi?action=sho...id&val=17854274 were submitted by you. If you're a customer of the email service try substituting "mailsc" in place of "members" in the URL.


--------------------
Spambo
Just a SpamCop forum participant, not an admin
or employee of SpamCop or related domains.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
James Cridland
post Mar 20 2004, 08:24 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 801



Well, that's even more confusing: the copies of the mail there are obfuscated, despite the fact that I turn obfuscation off. One mentions "James" in the subject line, so it's probably my fault.

I'm confused as to how I've done it, bearing in mind what my mailhost settings are, but I'll wait for it to clear.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Ellen
post Mar 20 2004, 08:31 PM
Post #6


Advanced Member
Group Icon

Group: Retired SpamCop Staff
Posts: 497
Joined: 21-January 04
Member No.: 16



QUOTE(James Cridland @ Mar 20 2004, 06:36 PM)
I was wondering why messages from this board are being blocked by bl.spamcop.net.

It turns out that my mailhost is: and the funny thing is, I've actually registered my mailhost in the VER system. 212.113.16.78 is my own mailhost, and it looks as if this is the one which is blocked; yet it is clearly shown in the 'mailhosts' system as being the mailhost for james[at]cridland.net.

Um... help?

QUOTE
Return-Path: <news[at]spamcop.net>
Delivered-To: spamcop-net-j4m3scr1dl4nd[at]spamcop.net
Received: (qmail 21256 invoked from network); 20 Mar 2004 23:29:38 -0000
Received: from unknown (192.168.1.101)
  by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:38 -0000
Received: from chillerton.linom.com (212.113.16.78)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:37 -0000
Received: from c60.cesmail.net (c60.cesmail.net [216.154.195.49])
by chillerton.linom.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id CF23AEB95F
for <james[at]cridland.net>; Sat, 20 Mar 2004 23:29:36 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from unknown (HELO blade1.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.211)
  by c60.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Mar 2004 18:29:36 -0500
Received: (qmail 21203 invoked from network); 20 Mar 2004 23:29:35 -0000
Received: from unknown (192.168.1.101)
  by blade1.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Received: from unknown (216.154.195.59)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with QMQP; 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Date: 20 Mar 2004 23:29:34 -0000
Message-ID: <20040320232934.9070.qmail[at]forum.cesmail.net>
To: james[at]cridland.net
Subject: Registration at SpamCop Discussion ( From SpamCop Discussion )
From: "SpamCop Discussion" <news[at]spamcop.net>
X-Priority: 3
X-Mailer: IPB PHP Mailer
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on blade1
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: hits=0.0 tests=none version=2.63
X-SpamCop-Checked: 192.168.1.101 212.113.16.78
X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked bl.spamcop.net



James Cridland,
This email has been sent from http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php.

You have received this email because this email address
was used during registration for our forums.
(snip)

Ok I am not sure when you registered your mailhost and whether there was some spam being processed by you during the registration but that is the only thing I can figure out cause the pasrse looks OK now. I have delisted your IP 212.113.16.78 -- this takes about 2 hours to propagate.


--------------------
Ellen
SpamCop - Retired

Please do not Private Message me.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
James Cridland
post Mar 20 2004, 08:34 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 801



Thank you.

The system does now parse very nicely, I notice.


--------------------
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 6th September 2010 - 12:47 AM