QUOTE(timothyx @ Mar 18 2009, 11:04 PM)

What bumbling idiots created the blacklist removal tool?
Someone that a lot of folks hold in very high regard, showing signs of genuis in many ways.
QUOTE
It does a reverse DNS lookup on my mail server's IP address,
And just what mail server might this be? (Actually, at this point, it doesn't matter .. the rDNS lookup is done against the IP Address, not your "mail server') The only information provided in your post is (data available to just a few) is the IP Address of the system you posted from. So that's what I used to start trying to look things up in order to try to answer your apparent 'real' question ...
Hostname:
ip-203.191.163.83.dsl.sta.onestream.com.au ... doesn't really 'look' like an 'official' e-mail server, more like someone's DSL connection to their ISP.
QUOTE
surprise surprise its comes back to my internet providers domain. Of course there are no MX records...
??? and if there are MX records somewhere that point to something else, where and what might they be? Of course, the real question is actually asking just what IP Address is really involved .... which of course then leads to even more questions like is it one computer, a network point, is there a router and/or firewall in place, on and on .. all that wonderful stuff not mentioned in your rant ...
On the other hand ....
telnet 203.191.163.83 25
220 insightinformatics.com.au Microsoft ESMTP MAIL Service, Version: 6.0.3790.3959 ready at Thu, 19 Mar 2009 16:55:51 +1000
ns18.zoneedit.com reports the following MX records for 'insightinformatics.com.au':
Preference Host Name IP Address
0 mail.insightinformatics.com.au 203.191.163.83
Reverse DNS FAILED! This is a problem. (also explains some of your ranted-about issues)
So there really is an e-mail server running at that IP Address .... but there's some bad background data involved. Wondering if you really meant to lie about the "no MX records" or is it that this server/network/whatever isn't really under "your" control?
QUOTE
So now you offer me a choice of some common administrator emails at my ISP's domain how exactly am i supposed to request delisting based on those emails?
The "you" in question isn't actually 'here' .... on the other hand, delisting at the moment doesn't look like very good idea.
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=203.191.163.83
203.191.163.83 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 23 hours.
Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past weekHas this been corrected yet? Hmmm, doesn't look like it ....
http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...=203.191.163.83Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Last Month
Last day ...... 3.5 ...
1357%Last month .. 2.4
A starting spot might be
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?203.191.163.83It seems that taking the time to look at some FAQs, read some existing Posts/Discussions made by folks that have "been there before you" might be a better use of your time, as compared to simply stopping by here and venting .... especially without providing any real data. The delisting process would make more sense if the numbers and details seen above changed dramatically, typically by finding and removing the compromised system(s) from the network, infected computer(s) cleaned up, stuff like that ....