Hi All,
I'm aware this site doesn't directly have involvement with Senderbase, but according to Google, this is the only place anyone knows anything at all about it, so I thought I'd try my luck.
I'm not so much expecting to see anyone that can remove me, as much as hoping to find anyone that can provide information on how to this reputation improved.
On the 15th we started seeing bounces to users of Ironport devices, due to our poor Senderbase reputation. I sent an email to support[at]senderbase.org on the 16th. We went through all this first:
We confirmed our DNS. Specifically, our IP had an rDNS, which would resolve to a name, which would resolve back to that IP, which was the name in use in our HELO messages.
We were not listed on any RBL found on http://www.robtex.com/rbl/
We had a good reputation with Barracuda, Neutral with Trusted Source, "Insufficient email seen" from Sender Score, and not poor with anyone else.
It wasn't until the 21st we got a reply, with these key notes:
-SenderBase is not a listing organization
If the spam problem is fixed as you believe it to be, then there should be no further complaints received. Once all issues have been addressed (fixed), reputation recovery can take anywhere from a few hours to just over one week to improve
The most recent complaint we have on file is dated Sunday, March 15,
Well I'm not sure how they are not a listing organization. They maintain a list, we are on it, and we can't get any email out because of it.
On the 23rd, we became "neutral" with senderbase for half an hour, before becoming suddenly "Poor" again.
It's now nine days we've been unable to get email to Ironport users. Contrary to recommendation on the Senderbase site, Australia's largest ISP seems to outright reject (554 Error on connection) any email from us at all.
The main suggestion I have had regarding the relisting is the sudden "spike" reported in our traffic. Of course we have a spike. We had 0 emails going out because we were blacklisted. When we became available, everyone in the business rushed to resend their legitimate emails.
The second recommendation I see is regarding the fact senderbase.org lists us as having "unverified forward/reverse DNS", which is confusing because the it looks fine to me. Looking at www.robotex.com in the "reverse DNS" section shows an A -> PTR loop between the name and IP.
The third is just about improving our ham/spam ratio. We've had this IP without incident for years. We can't get any email out at all in order to improve our ratio, because we are in this catch 22 of being blacklisted.
The fourth is that we don't place ourselves on the bonded sender list. Sorry, but paying to apply for a whitelisting (which is unrefundable, yet unlikely to be accepted given our current listing) is just something I can't accept as a requirement for a company that produces nothing in the way of email lists.
It's not a shared IP. It's a dedicated mail server for our network only and this address is not used for Internet transit, so for a trojan to be an issue, it would have to smart host.
I sent an email back to Senderbase on 21st, requesting any sort of clarification or advice, but have not received any reply.
I'm all for blocking spam by every means possible. I agree with the methodology used by most blacklists out there, and I agree you usually get listed because you deserve it.
But this listing provides no information which is useful ("you have a bad reputation" is not useful) regarding how it lists. Looking at the senderbase information for IPs in my ISP's netblock, I can see addresses with no rDNS, and addresses listed in Spamcop or multiple RBLs currently, which have "Good" reputations with Senderbase. Clearly something unfair is going on for this to occur.
I've contacted the ISP in question, their view on the matter (which affects at least half a dozen domains we are sending to) is that they don't run the blacklist, but we wouldn't be there if we weren't evil, so no whitelisting will happen. Yes that's their problem, but I'm not getting anywhere with it.
It is now nine days since our original listing. The IP in question is 61.14.113.190. I'd love someone to prove me wrong about the rDNS or similar. I'm more interested in dealing with the issue than being right. I'm just completely at my wits end regarding what could ever be behind this situation.
