I'm fairly new here. I've been reporting spam here a few weeks, and I've spent some afternoons looking for this issue in forums and FAQs.
A recent tracking URL that illustrates my question is
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z3072941200za...ccb256d022aeaaz
As you see on the SpamCop tracking report, the abuse report email address is to the main provider's (and entire block owner's) abuse desk.
But the actual sender of spam has leased or rented a subnet or smaller netblock from the main provider and block owner. That smaller netblock (and its abuse desk email address) shows up in IP lookups that I do outside of SpamCop. The abuse email address for that subnet is listed in whois databases.
The larger block owner is a major ISP, who apparently is content to ignore spamming by some bigger customers.
If you simply take the IP shown on the tracking URL for "message source", and append it to
http://whois.domaintools.com/
ie: http://whois.domaintools.com/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
You'll see the subnet owned or rented by the spammer on the lower part of the whois listing.
How do I convince SpamCop to notify the actual spammer, ie: the owner of the domain that uses the smaller netblock? I'm quite happy to use any workaround, but I just couldn't find one in the FAQs and forums.
Hope at least my question is parsable.
TIA for any advice.
