Since my email client (The Bat!) is very cautious about displaying HTML, I get a fair number of legitimate "skeletal" messages that don't display all their pictures and graphics, and all have a line that says something like, "If you have trouble reading this message, click here," which leads me to a web page or some other HTML display using my browser. No problem here.
Lately (maybe last few months) I have been receiving a lot of spam that I find somewhat puzzling:
Messages almost always arrive in pairs, almost identical messages, generally with different Sb: lines, from different senders (both the spoofed addresses and SpamCop-analysis "real" ones);
All are "skeletal," claiming to be newsletters or some such that I've subscribed to, from alleged organizations with nonsense names like Poxiix or Vigiutype;
All contain many links, like "If you have trouble reading this message, click here," "Info on your account," "Unsubscribe," "Feedback," "User Information," etc. All these links point to Chinese-domain web sites with nonsensical (in English, anyway) names like sr.xzoyebac.cn/?sqy=4A713956585BFA36908E732. Even with my protection software, I don't want even to try following these links.
Can anyone suggest what's going on here? I'm guessing that they're either some form of phishing; or lead to some sort of poisoned web site that will try to drop a virus or a trojan or adware onto my computer; or maybe just some sort of listwashing, confirmation that my address is kosher. Maybe just testing hordes of zombie computers? Anyone else getting this kind of stuff? Any other suggestions? Anyone know for sure?
Follow-up question: I get a lot of these, and have so far been reporting them to the email-source ISPs and to the link ISPs via SpamCop.net. I suppose that it's a good idea to inform the mail source ISPs, but any ideas on whether it's worth it for the link ISPs?
Any suggestions greatly appreciated. Many thanks. --Howard
