Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: f2bbs
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Lounge
dra007
I have been flooded for two days by spam pointinf to f2bbs dot com.. I was hoping someone had a tool to check what nasty malware they are attempting to inject

Traking http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z3102844923zd...ac8418e871649cz


Senders are pointing to all kinds of places so I assume they are zomby generated.

these were the last 3:
CODE
[quote]Submitted: Friday, July 10, 2009 10:26:35 AM -0400:
F2BBS.com invitation
4357076873 ( [url=http://f2bbs.com/]http://f2bbs.com/[/url] ) To: abuse[at]godaddy.com
4357076855 ( Forwarded spam ) To: spam[at]uce.gov
4357076848 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: knujon[at]coldrain.net
4357076838 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: techsupport[at]bharti.com
4357076794 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: helpdesk.network[at]bharti.com
4357076547 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: abuse[at]airtelbroadband.in
4357076464 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: abuse[at]mantraonline.com
4357076364 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: abuse[at]airtel.lk
4357076259 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: abuse[at]bharti.com
4357076141 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: techsupport[at]airtel.in
4357075979 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: postmaster[at]airtel.in
4357075848 ( 122.162.212.172 ) To: abuse[at]airtel.in

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Friday, July 10, 2009 10:26:34 AM -0400:
F2BBS.com invitation
4357074508 ( Forwarded spam ) To: spam[at]uce.gov
4357074501 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: knujon[at]coldrain.net
4357074497 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: saleemmb[at]emirates.net.ae
4357074493 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: help[at]eim.ae
4357074489 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: postmaster[at]emirates.net.ae
4357074486 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: abuse[at]eim.ae
4357074476 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: noc[at]emix.net.ae
4357074473 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: help[at]emirates.net.ae
4357074468 ( 86.99.103.36 ) To: abuse[at]emirates.net.ae

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Friday, July 10, 2009 10:26:34 AM -0400:
F2BBS.com invitation
4357074197 ( Forwarded spam ) To: spam[at]uce.gov
4357074193 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: knujon[at]coldrain.net
4357074190 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: abuse[at]telekom.yu
4357074187 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: abuse[at]gblx.net
4357074183 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: abuse[at]telekom.rs
4357074181 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: admin[at]telekom.yu
4357074178 ( 91.150.120.13 ) To: postmaster[at]telekom.rs [/quote]
Farelf
Nothing unusual at first blush:

Initiating server query ...
Looking up IP address for domain: f2bbs.com
The IP address for the domain is: 97.74.182.1
Connecting to the server on standard HTTP port: 80
[Connected] Requesting the server's default page.
The server returned the following response headers:
HTTP/1.1 302 Moved Temporarily
Date: Fri, 10 Jul 2009 17:41:16 GMT
Server: Apache
Location: .htt p://f2bb s.co m/bbs
Connection: close
Transfer-Encoding: chunked
Content-Type: text/html
Query complete.

Site is a bulletin board, running some unfamiliar application software in a black and red color scheme. Visited (without registration) without apparent problems - a hot topic there being "F2 BEING SETUP, spam ISNT COMING FROM F2 ADMINS, PROOF INSIDE" - yeah well ...

Dunno, looks pretty innocuous (for some value of innocuous which encompasses a FAQ page headed "FAH Q" and a black and red color scheme). Norton Site Safety hasn't yet evaluated the site.
dra007
Starting to sound like some silly joe job, though as annoyed as I am by them it strikes me as fishy...
rconner
QUOTE(Farelf @ Jul 10 2009, 02:25 PM) *
Dunno, looks pretty innocuous (for some value of innocuous which encompasses a FAQ page headed "FAH Q"
Could be a vile insult depending upon how you pronounce it.

-- rick
Farelf
QUOTE(rconner @ Jul 11 2009, 04:37 AM) *
Could be a vile insult depending upon how you pronounce it.
Entirely intentional, I'm sure, sets a tone. All-in-all not the sort of venue, I would think, likely to conduct an untargeted recruitment campaign and it seems its founder is unpopular in some circles http://www.adotas.com/2006/06/controversia...out-at-adbrite/ and it is self-described as a "Premium E-Business Forum" (can't say I detected any evidence of serious endeavor but then I wasn't looking hard), elsewhere (DomainTools result) "F2 Anonboard - No Rules, No Registration." Not the sort of venture likely to escape the attentions of malicious detractors (joejobbers, etc) whichever way you look at it - so I'm still going with that bb site as "mostly harmless" and actual spamming involvement as a little unlikely. But, as regards the last, who could say? Opinion only.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.