QUOTE(whyme @ Sep 25 2009, 08:38 AM)

the bounce backs specifically name their addresses....216.221.81.29 and 216.221.81.30 with this reasoning...5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-'"JunkMail rejected - smtp3.cogeco.ca (fipsb03.cogeco.net) [216.221.81.30]\nis in an RBL
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...p=216.221.81.29216.221.81.29 not listed in bl.spamcop.net
Report History:
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 8:39:27 AM -0500:
Re-validate(Now)... •4560553540 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
---------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 8:39:14 AM -0500:
Re-validate(Now)... •4560553496 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
--------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 8:38:58 AM -0500:
Re-validate(Now)... •4560552848 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
-----------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 12:12:43 AM -0500:
Investment Plan !!! •4559516417 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
-----------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Wednesday, September 23, 2009 11:44:31 PM -0500:
You Won •4559504371 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Wednesday, September 23, 2009 10:10:37 AM -0500:
Partnership Investment •4558166035 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
--------------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Tuesday, September 22, 2009 8:02:26 AM -0500:
[SUSPECTED spam] Crie seus sistemas SEM LIMITES •4555266271 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Monday, September 21, 2009 4:49:05 PM -0500:
Partnership Investment •4553818162 ( 216.221.81.29 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------------------
Not near enough to get listed based on user complaints alone ... spamtrap hits must have been pretty substantial.
http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...g=216.221.81.29Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Last Month
Last day ....... 3.7 .. -96%
Last month ... 5.2
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...p=216.221.81.30216.221.81.30 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 20 hours.
Causes of listing
•System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
•SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
•IP is listed in SpamCop exclusion list
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available
Listing History
In the past 4.3 days, it has been listed 3 times for a total of 32 hours
Other hosts in this "neighborhood" with spam reports
216.221.81.28 216.221.81.29 216.221.81.39
Report History:
Submitted: Friday, September 25, 2009 8:20:44 AM -0500:
Reply... •4562887820 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
--------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 10:01:29 PM -0500:
Contact Mr.Andy Jerry via Tel:+60129750804 •4561868803 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
---------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 24, 2009 8:39:51 AM -0500:
Re-validate(Now)... •4560553860 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
-------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Wednesday, September 23, 2009 7:10:37 AM -0500:
Business proposal •4557750295 ( 216.221.81.30 ) ( SIMPLE ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Monday, September 21, 2009 8:07:21 AM -0500:
[SUSPECTED spam] Crie seus sistemas SEM LIMITES •4552796379 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 17, 2009 11:28:35 AM -0500:
HMC EMAIL ACCOUNT UPDATE •4544986491 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Thursday, September 17, 2009 11:28:02 AM -0500:
HMC EMAIL ACCOUNT UPDATE •4544984590 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Wednesday, September 16, 2009 10:59:08 AM -0500:
You won $2,500,000 USD •4542687148 ( 216.221.81.30 ) To: security[at]cogeco.net
------------------------------------------------
same remark as above
http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...g=216.221.81.30Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Last Month
Last day ...... 4.6 .. 158%
Last month .. 4.2
What's noticed is that the .29 machine has reduced traffic flow and is now unlisted from the SpamCopDNSBL. The .30 machine has traffic going way up and remains listed. One would have to ask the ISP what those numbers might actually mean. For example, they have been moving traffic from one IPA (server) to another, the first server had some traffic managed somehow, be it an infection removed, a client('s infected machine) removed, a hack discovered and now blocked, etc.
QUOTE
And there's a link to Spamcop with some sort of explanation that if I am the isp administrator that I can dispute this and have it delisted. So, by reading this, I'm supposed to think it's whose fault now that I'm in my fifth day of sporadic email service?
What is SpamCop.net?What is the SpamCop Blocking List?Thoe links will try once again to explain that SpamCop does not block anything itself, the use and implementation of the SpamCopDNSBL is up to the (receiving) ISP, and the reasons for a SpamCopDNSBL listing. (Both appear to be primarily caused by spamtrap hits.) At this point, one would want to talk to the folks that handle the complaints received at security[at]cogeco.net and ask what they are 'really' doing to handle the situation.
QUOTE
When someone with a personal cogeco account sends an email to my or anyone else's business or even to another account (eg hotmail, gmail etc.) and gets a bounce back saying spamcop has cogeco on their blacklist, and lists their address, I'm not supposed to think that spamcop's blocking them?
Bad examples, as neither HotMail or Google use the SpamCopDNSBL. However, as explained elsewhere in the above referenced links, the answer to your question once again is ... SpamCop does not handle your e-mail, so SpamCop cannot "block your e-mail" .... any "blocking action" was done at and by the receiving ISP.