Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Cesmail.net Outage Today?
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Email System & Accounts
Ex_Brit
Is this email genuine? From the administrator[at]Cesmail.net?

QUOTE
Attention!

On October 16, 2009 server upgrade will take place. Due to this the system may be offline for approximately half an hour.
The changes will concern security, reliability and performance of mail service and the system as a whole.
For compatibility of your browsers and mail clients with upgraded server software you should run SSl certificates update procedure.
This procedure is quite simple. All you have to do is just to click the link provided, to save the patch file and then to run it from your computer location. That's all.

http://updates.cesmail.net.secure.cert-ser...t-patch022.aspx

Thank you in advance for your attention to this matter and sorry for possible inconveniences.

System Administrator


I xx'd out some details in the link provided, however my question is also why does that original link give me an "Oops the link appears to be broken" type result?

Do I really have to click on the link in each browser I use on all four of my OS's if and when it works?

Telarin
Since the domain provided in the link is cert-services.net, which appears to have no affiliation with spamcop of cesmail, I would say that this email is DEFINITELY not legitimate.

One also has to wonder why you would need to install a program in order to access a website, another good sign that the message is not legit.
Ex_Brit
I thought so, but just thought I'd see if anyone else received it. It apears some spammer is targetting cesmail.net yet again.

Thankfully that link is a dud. I have enough protection installed to ensure clicking on it would not bring me grief.
Farelf
QUOTE(Ex_Brit @ Oct 16 2009, 09:28 PM) *
I thought so, but just thought I'd see if anyone else received it. ...
It appears a few McAfee Site Advisor reporters are warning of recent phishing and exploits associated with cert-services.net. biggrin.gif
Ex_Brit
Interesting. Thanks.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.