Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Orange webmail is blocked
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
jeje68
Many orange-wanadoo customers complain that they're blocked by Spamcop.
When examining the headers, I can't find any server IP.
mwinf2201.orange.fr has no reverse DNS...

What can we do about it ?

Here's an example :
Return-Path: <>
Received: from mwinf2201.orange.fr (mwinf2201.orange.fr)
by mwinb7404 (SMTP Server) with LMTP; Mon, 02 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100
X-Sieve: Server Sieve 2.2
X-Bcc: "loc: requested length %ld"
Received: from me-wanadoo.net (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mwinf2201.orange.fr (SMTP Server) with ESMTP id B121C1C00096
for <o22000000000000000115105016[at]back74-mail02-02.me-wanadoo.net>; Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
Received: by mwinf2201.orange.fr (SMTP Server)
id 9DFC01C0009E; Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
Date: Mon, 2 Nov 2009 14:10:17 +0100 (CET)
X-ME-UUID: 20091102131017381.5D0751C00096[at]mwinf2201.orange.fr
From: MAILER-DAEMON[at]orange.fr (Mail Delivery System)
Subject: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender
To: (masked)
Auto-Submitted: auto-replied
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;
boundary="7DED71C00096.1257167417/orange.fr"
Message-Id: <20091102131017.9DFC01C0009E[at]mwinf2201.orange.fr>
X-me-spamlevel: not-spam
X-me-spamrating: 38.400002
X-me-spamcause: OK, (- 40)(0000)gggruggvucftvghtrhhoucdtuddrvdekiedrudeiucetggdotefuucfrrhhofhhilhgvmec
uoffgnecuuegrihhlohhuthemuceftddtnecutehtthgrtghhuchhvggruggvrhculddqhedtmdenufh
prghmjfgvrgguvghrhfhivghlugcujfgvrgguvghrucfutghorhhinhhgucdluddtmd


This is the mail system at host mwinf2201.orange.fr.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<masked>: host smtp.calixo.net[masked] said: 553 sorry, your
mailserver is rejected by see http://spamcop.net (in reply to MAIL FROM
command)

Derek T
QUOTE(jeje68 @ Nov 3 2009, 11:53 AM) *
Many orange-wanadoo customers complain that they're blocked by Spamcop.
When examining the headers, I can't find any server IP.
mwinf2201.orange.fr has no reverse DNS...

What can we do about it ?

According to Senderbase that domain maps to 63 smtp servers. Without the specific IP there is very little any of us can do. The rejection message is malformed (in that it should contain the IP). Do you have another example from a different recipient, perhaps?
jeje68
QUOTE(Derek T @ Nov 3 2009, 06:27 AM) *
According to Senderbase that domain maps to 63 smtp servers. Without the specific IP there is very little any of us can do. The rejection message is malformed (in that it should contain the IP). Do you have another example from a different recipient, perhaps?

That's my problem. Every mailer-daemon I get does not contain the sender ip. Maybe because the orange webmail is a bit strange...

Where can I find the list of the 63 smtp servers ?
Telarin
The rejection message is generated by the receiving server and would have nothing to do with the orange-wanadoo system setup. However, even if you know the IP address, there is going to be little to nothing you as a user can do about it. This is something that their mail system management team would have to address to solve.

The fact that there is a spamcop listing for some of their servers indicates either they have a major configuration problem causing their SMTP servers to send backscatter, they have a customer sending a large volume of spam through their SMTP servers, or they have a security breach allowing a spammer outside their network to relay through their SMTP servers. Either way, it is a problem that their support will have to resolve in order to get delisted.
Farelf
QUOTE(Telarin @ Nov 3 2009, 10:01 PM) *
...The fact that there is a spamcop listing for some of their servers indicates either they have a major configuration problem causing their SMTP servers to send backscatter, they have a customer sending a large volume of spam through their SMTP servers, or they have a security breach allowing a spammer outside their network to relay through their SMTP servers. Either way, it is a problem that their support will have to resolve in order to get delisted.
I agree with those comments. Some of the IP addresses that have been in the SCbl recently:

193.252.23.25, 193.252.23.26, 193.252.22.118, 193.252.23.120, 193.252.22.121, 193.252.22.128, 193.252.22.151, 193.252.22.152, 193.252.22.159, 193.252.23.171, 193.252.22.173, 193.252.22.190, 193.252.22.191, 193.252.22.192, 193.252.23.196, 193.252.23.197, 193.252.23.198, 193.252.23.199

(SenderBase -> bl.spamcop.net)

It looks to me like no more than 2 or 3 of these are listed at any given time - I suppose it could be a type of spammer 'snowshoe' operation. Typically abuse[at]orange.fr would have been receiving reports throughout but probably not a great number of them, it seems.
Wazoo
QUOTE(jeje68 @ Nov 3 2009, 05:39 AM) *
That's my problem. Every mailer-daemon I get does not contain the sender ip. Maybe because the orange webmail is a bit strange...

In your initial post, the dialog included the phrase It's attached below. The outgoing server involved should be within those headers (although admitting that there's a chance that some assumptions may be wrong.) Another way to troubleshoot this is to try again, but include a CC: address to another account elsewhere, say a Yahoo or HotMail account and see if it gets there ... use that e-mail to identify the outgoing server. Then someone could take a look at the specific that may be available on that server.
QUOTE
Where can I find the list of the 63 smtp servers ?

http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...tring=orange.fr

As Telarin states, there isn't much you can do directly to "fix" the immediate problem beyond complaining to your ISP/Host and/or using another e-mail provider in the interim. However, identifying the outgoing server involved may help in developing a better complaint.
jeje68
Thanks for your answers.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.