Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Success
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > Mailhost Configuration of your Reporting Account
PeterJ
My mail setup is fairly simple. I use my spamcop mail address as my sole account almost. I do have the mail account that my ISP provides me forwarding to my spamcop mail acct, but this is purely not to miss any legitimite mail from my provider. I rarely receive mail to this latter account, spam or otherwise, as it has never been used for anything.

I gave Julian's beta system a try and from what I read my spamcop account should have been automatically taken into account. Therefore the only account I entered when prompted was the mail account provided to me by my ISP.

After receiving instructions from the "SpamCop robot" and following them, I received the following reply/error:

QUOTE
Hello SpamCop user,

Sorry, but SpamCop has encountered errors:

Sorry, the email sample you submitted for _____[at]ameritech.net
appears to traverse more than one domain. 
Please ensure that you configure each mailhost individually and in order.
Proceed here:
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Please do not respond to this email (replies are ignored).  If you need
help, please consult the SpamCop website ( <http://www.spamcop.net/> ).

This email was sent in response to your email:
Return-Path: <service[at]admin.spamcop.net>
Delivered-To: spamcop-net-nobody[at]spamcop.net
Received: (qmail 7877 invoked from network); 18 Mar 2004 06:15:36 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO mailgate.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.101)
  by blade1.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 06:15:36 -0000
Received: (qmail 9122 invoked from network); 18 Mar 2004 06:15:36 -0000
Received: from mta805.mail.yahoo.com (66.163.168.151)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 06:15:36 -0000
Received: from mta805.mail.yahoo.com for nobody[at]spamcop.net; Mar 17 22:15:34 2004 -0800
X-Yahoo-Forwarded: from _____[at]ameritech.net to nobody[at]spamcop.net
Received: from mx1-klmzmi.klmzmi.ameritech.net (67.36.55.28)
  by mta805.mail.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 17 Mar 2004 22:15:33 -0800
X-Originating-IP: [206.14.107.103]
Received: from spamcop.net (victor2.ironport.com [206.14.107.103])
by mx1-klmzmi.klmzmi.ameritech.net (8.12.10/8.12.10) with SMTP id i2I6FVb0023315
for <_____[at]ameritech.net>; Thu, 18 Mar 2004 00:15:32 -0600 (CST)
X-SpamCop-Conf: nmKBjcOt1Bs0SSQe
X-SpamCop-Test1: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 0 a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Received: from [65.42.186.135] by spamcop.net
with HTTP; Thu, 18 Mar 2004 06:15:32 GMT
From: SpamCop robot <REMOVED>
To: _____[at]ameritech.net
Subject: SpamCop account configuration email
Precedence: list
Message-ID: <wh40593e84g10a18[at]msgid.spamcop.net>
Date: Thu, 18 Mar 2004 06:15:32 GMT
X-Mailer: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.6) Gecko/20040210 Firefox/0.8
via http://www.spamcop.net/ v1.3.4
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on blade1
X-Spam-Level: ***
X-Spam-Status: hits=3.0 tests=FORGED_MUA_MOZILLA,FROM_HAS_MIXED_NUMS
version=2.63
X-SpamCop-Checked: 192.168.1.101 66.163.168.151 67.36.55.28 206.14.107.103 65.42.186.135
X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked SpamAssassin=3

Hello SpamCop user,

This email contains special codes and tracking information to help SpamCop
figure out your specific email configuration.

Please return this complete email, preserving full headers and the special
tracking codes below.  Forwarding as an attachment is the preferred
method.  Forward it to this address:

REMOVED

Alternately, you may create a new message and paste this email into it. 
Address the message to:

REMOVED

Special codes follow:
################################################################

REMOVED

################################################################






As one might have surmised I am using SBC Yahoo DSL for internet access. SBC Yahoo DSL users exist with quite a variety of e-mail domains, mine happens to be "ameritech.net" If it is relevant to Julian's configuration the list of all e-mail domains possible (as far as I know) for SBC Yahoo DSL users is:

QUOTE
ameritech.net
flash.net
nvbell.net
pacbell.net
prodigy.net
sbcglobal.net
snet.net
swbell.net
wans.net


I have no email address with a yahoo domain, only the one with the ameritech domain which I do not use, but forward to my spamcop account anyways. The message I received back from the bot above asked me to go back and configure remaining mailhosts. If I need to configure a yahoo host let me know, but I have no corresponding yahoo email address to accompany it.

If I did something wrong please advise.
Thanks,

PeterJ

EDIT March 18 below:

I was a bit tired when I posted...today I actually clicked on the link provided in the recieved error message and this took me to the "SpamCop - MailHost problem resolver" site and subsequently to the "SpamCop - Request mailhost waiver" page, where the final response was:

QUOTE
Wiaver request sent. You will be notified when waiver has been granted


So, it looks like I am on track, just need to wait. Like WB8TYW mentioned, a manual override process I gather.
PeterJ
For those who have not tried the mailhost beta system, I thought I would share a couple of variations of the new parsing I have seen (after "signing up"), if anyone is interested:

QUOTE
Received: from unknown (HELO blade3.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.213) by blade4.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 07:51:27 -0000
Internal handoff at SpamCop

Received: from yahoobb220021243036.bbtec.net (220.21.243.36) by blade3.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 07:51:27 -0000
SpamCop received mail from 220.21.243.36
Hostname verified: YahooBB220021243036.bbtec.net

All mail hosts in chain recognized.



QUOTE
Parsing header:
Received: from unknown (HELO mailgate.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.101) by blade1.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 10:11:38 -0000
Internal handoff at SpamCop

Received: from unknown (HELO 216.154.195.36) (219.139.239.141) by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 10:11:37 -0000
SpamCop received mail from 219.139.239.141

Received: from mail860.klx.optusnet.com.au ([192.214.80.254]) by mu78-e4.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6824); Thu, 18 Mar 2004 03:12:00 -0700
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Will not trust anything beyond this header

Received: from GBQG64 (l48.220.148.90.vwcud4.qso.optusnet.com.au [88.212.240.24]) by mail153.tuo.optusnet.com.au (60.70.1g3/4.76.5) with SMTP id z1Y10Xt16045; Thu, 18 Mar 2004 16:15:00 +0600
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Will not trust anything beyond this header

Forgery detected, or mailhost configuration incomplete. Please verify source IP identified.



QUOTE
Parsing header:
Received: from unknown (HELO blade3.cesmail.net) (192.168.1.213) by blade6.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 10:20:28 -0000
Internal handoff at SpamCop

Received: from adsl-66-124-8-226.dsl.lsan03.pacbell.net (66.124.8.226) by blade3.cesmail.net with SMTP; 18 Mar 2004 10:20:27 -0000
SpamCop received mail from 66.124.8.226
Hostname verified: adsl-66-124-8-226.dsl.lsan03.pacbell.net

Received: from 107.78.216.130 by 66.124.8.226; Thu, 18 Mar 2004 16:18:32 +0600
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Please ensure that pacbell.net is not your own service provider.
Will not trust anything beyond this header
julian
QUOTE
After receiving instructions from the "SpamCop robot" and following them, I received the following reply/error:


Although you did a nice job of trying to conceal all your personal info in this probe email, you missed one:

QUOTE
X-SpamCop-Conf: nmKBjcOt1Bs0SSQe


That's your authcode. You should reset it so people can't hijack your account. Reset your code by submitting your username here:

http://www.spamcop.net/anonsignup.shtml

-=Julian=-
PeterJ
QUOTE
That's your authcode. You should reset it so people can't hijack your account.


Doh! It has been a long time since I ever submitted by email. Many thanks for pointing it out, my auth code has been reset.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.