Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Reported spam, ISP suspended account
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > Mailhost Configuration of your Reporting Account
TheMadCow
Since I switched over to the mailhost beta, I'm now finding that my hosting company has deactivated my account. Seems to be connected, but I'm not technical enough to verify this. I'm including the email in question. It is indeed a reported SPAM that I submitted, but I'm not clear why it's getting my account slammed.

Thanks for the understanding if this isn't related and I'm posting in the wrong place.

-Geoff Miller

---------------------------
[ Offending message ]
Return-Path: <pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es>
Delivered-To: x
Received: (qmail 7343 invoked from network); 3 Apr 2004 18:19:12 -0000
Received: from unknown (192.168.1.101)
  by blade6.cesmail.net with QMQP; 3 Apr 2004 18:19:12 -0000
Received: from ns1.fluxservices.com (HELO web01.fluxservices.com)
(64.246.62.37)
  by mailgate.cesmail.net with SMTP; 3 Apr 2004 18:19:12 -0000
Received: from 80-28-183-115.adsl.nuria.telefonica-data.net
([80.28.183.115] helo=kiko-mqpyuxkp9y)
by web01.fluxservices.com with esmtp (Exim 4.24)
id 1B9pjR-0007D7-Cn
for x; Sat, 03 Apr 2004 12:19:06 -0600
From: "CIGARRETES" <pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es>
Subject: BUY CIGARRETES / FREE SHIPPING
To: x
Content-Type: text/plain;iso-8859-1
Reply-To: pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es
Date: Sat, 3 Apr 2004 20:19:05 +0200
X-Priority: 2
X-Library: Indy 8.0.25
Message-Id: <E1B9_________7-Cn[at]web01.fluxservices.com>
X-yoursite-MailScanner-Information: Please contact the ISP for more
information
X-yoursite-MailScanner: Found to be clean
X-MailScanner-From: pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with
any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - web01.fluxservices.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - madcowstudios.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [0 0] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - yahoo.es
X-Spam-Checker-Version: SpamAssassin 2.63 (2004-01-11) on blade6
X-Spam-Level: ****
X-Spam-Status: hits=4.1 tests=LINES_OF_YELLING,LINES_OF_YELLING_2,
PRIORITY_NO_NAME,SUBJ_ALL_CAPS,SUBJ_BUY,SUBJ_FREE_CAP,UPPERCASE_25_50,
X_LIBRARY version=2.63
X-SpamCop-Checked: 192.168.1.101 64.246.62.37 80.28.183.115
X-SpamCop-Disposition: Blocked SpamAssassin=4

*** WE ARE SELLING CIGARRTES FOR ALL THE WORLD ***

hi, cigarretes in your country are very expensive...mow you can buy
cigarretes from spain to the world !!!!

see our prizes and  send  a email with your  preference and your contact
dates (name,street,cp,country)

SEE OUR RATES!!!

200 cigarretes of camel to 35 dollars (free shipping)
200 cigarretes of winston  to 35 dollars (free shipping)
200 cigarretes of lucky strike to 30 dollars (free shipping)
200 cigarrttes of chesterfield to 30 dollars (free shipping)
200 cigarretes of L&M to 30 dollars (free shipping)

TO BUY CIGARRETES YOU CAN SEND A EMAIL TO pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es

WE CONTESTS TO YOU WITH MY DATES TO PAY THE SERVICE !!!

pedidos_vigo[at]yahoo.es
AlphaCentauri
QUOTE(TheMadCow @ Apr 5 2004, 03:54 PM)
...I'm now finding that my hosting company has deactivated my account. Seems to be connected, but I'm not technical enough to verify this. I'm including the email in question. It is indeed a reported SPAM that I submitted, but I'm not clear why it's getting my account slammed.


Did you also bounce it back to the supposed sender? If the forged address was a real person, they may have reported you as a spammer, assuming your bounce was just a sneaky way to send a spam.
Do you have a challenge-response filtering service (no mail gets delivered until the sender replies to an email confirming identity)? I don't think you would get the entire email back like this, but they also get reported as spam a lot.
Ellen
QUOTE(TheMadCow @ Apr 5 2004, 03:54 PM)
Since I switched over to the mailhost beta, I'm now finding that my hosting company has deactivated my account. Seems to be connected, but I'm not technical enough to verify this. I'm including the email in question. It is indeed a reported SPAM that I submitted, but I'm not clear why it's getting my account slammed.

Thanks for the understanding if this isn't related and I'm posting in the wrong place.

-Geoff Miller

---------------------------


Send your registered SpamCop email address to deputies <at> spamcop.net along with a short note as to what has happened and one of us will take a look at your mailhosts configuration.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.