Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: No source IP address found, cannot proceed
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > Mailhost Configuration of your Reporting Account
BarkerJr
Hi,

It seems like Mailhosts isn't recognizing some of the hosts I have.

0: Received: from pop.east.cox.net [68.1.17.2] by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-6.2.1) for x (single-drop); Fri, 07 May 2004 10:49:18 -0400 (EDT)
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Will not trust anything beyond this header
No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

Both pop.east.cox.net and 68.1.17.2 are listed in my Mailhosts list.

Here's the actual message: http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z466429090z5d...f39c5b06f093f0z
Wazoo
QUOTE
Received: from pop.east.cox.net [68.1.17.2]
by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-6.2.1)
for x (single-drop); Fri, 07 May 2004 10:49:18 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from [164.58.221.66] by lakermmtai05.cox.net
          (InterMail vM.6.01.03.02 201-2131-111-104-20040324) with SMTP
          id <20040507143816.GPNM29296.lakermmtai05.cox.net@[164.58.221.66]>;

Broken chain test here .. there is no "logical" step from lakermmtai05 to pop.east ... so please follow the information in one of the Pinned FAQs ... either kick the info to deputies at admin.spamcop.net or go for a waiver for the screwed up server farm (although noting that fetchmail is once again involved)
Gingko
Hello,

I have a similar problem on this message, and all messages coming from the same provider using fetchmail.

The only workaround that I found is stripping "Received" headers until the fetchmail's one, and I'm not sure that this is really welcomed ....

Gingko.
BarkerJr
Received: from pop-fr.libertysurf.net [213.36.80.75]

If you remove the IP at the end of that line, I think it'll be OK.

Received: from pop-fr.libertysurf.net

I'm talking to deputies about it and will report back on any progress.
Gingko
QUOTE(BarkerJr @ May 7 2004, 06:27 PM)
If you remove the IP at the end of that line, I think it'll be OK.

You are right.

I tried it, it works.
Although I don't understand very well why :

213.36.80.75 is really pop-fr.libertysurf.net.

Gingko.
Ellen
QUOTE(BarkerJr @ May 7 2004, 02:51 PM)
Hi,

It seems like Mailhosts isn't recognizing some of the hosts I have.

0: Received: from pop.east.cox.net [68.1.17.2] by localhost with POP3 (fetchmail-6.2.1) for x (single-drop); Fri, 07 May 2004 10:49:18 -0400 (EDT)
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Will not trust anything beyond this header
No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

Both pop.east.cox.net and 68.1.17.2 are listed in my Mailhosts list.

Here's the actual message: http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z466429090z5d...f39c5b06f093f0z

Thanks I sent this to Julian
soczol
Same problem here and here.
Wazoo
and again .. fetchmail involved
che
I'm having a similar problem with fetchmail, except that parser seems to refuse "localhost":
QUOTE
0: Received: from kms.spider.cz [81.0.225.131] by localhost with IMAP (fetchmail-6.2.5) for x (single-drop); Fri, 08 Apr 2005 06:40:01 +0200 (CEST)
Hostname verified: blue.spider.cz
Possible forgery. Supposed receiving system not associated with any of your mailhosts
Will not trust anything beyond this header
No source IP address found, cannot proceed.

When I remove the IP of spider.cz mailserver, it works fine. I ran the host addition procedure a few times, but it didn't help. Is there any way I could make it to cope with the defalt fetchmail header?
Thanks.

Tracking URL is http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z750283983zf8...feda11f4e5aa6fz
Jeff G.
Does giving Fetchmail an FQDN fix the problem?
Ellen
QUOTE(che @ Apr 8 2005, 05:45 AM)
I'm having a similar problem with fetchmail, except that parser seems to refuse "localhost":

When I remove the IP of spider.cz mailserver, it works fine. I ran the host addition procedure a few times, but it didn't help. Is there any way I could make it to cope with the defalt fetchmail header?
Thanks.

Tracking URL is http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z750283983zf8...feda11f4e5aa6fz
*



Ok I fixed this *however* we may want to play a bit with your user record/mailhosts later today or tomorrow -- if we do we will suspend your reporting privileges while we do that and then reinstate them. So if you happen to try to parse some spam and find out your reporting privileges are suspended do not panic. They should be back not long after. If you have any questions please write and make sure you include your registered SpamCop user name.
che
QUOTE(Ellen @ Apr 11 2005, 01:19 PM)
Ok I fixed this *however* we may want to play a bit with your user record/mailhosts  later today or tomorrow -- if we do we will suspend your reporting privileges while we do that and then reinstate them.
*

Reporting now works fine, thanks!

QUOTE(Jeff G. @ Apr 9 2005, 08:30 AM)
Does giving Fetchmail an FQDN fix the problem?
*

As far as I know, fetchmail has hard-coded 'localhost' identification. And since my computer doesn't have public IP anyway, I'm glad that you enabled localhost for me.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.