Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Bogus bounce
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Email System & Accounts
shochat
I have recently started to use my spamcop.net E-mail account more and am considering switching over to it completely. However, I received a troubling bounce today to a message ostensibly from me, which I had never sent. Furthermore, the bounce seems to imply that the message I supposedly sent contained a virus. The most confusing part is that when I study the source of the bounce, particularly the included source of the message being bounced, I see this:

Received: from spamcop.net (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mx3.interplay.com (8.12.10/8.12.9) with ESMTP id i0TN7W0K023161
for <maria[at]interplay.com>; Thu, 29 Jan 2004 15:07:32 -0800

Now what does that mean? Does it mean that I was being spoofed by someone inside
interplay.com? The bounce message I received did seem to have come legitimately from mx3.interplay.com (the sending IP address matched mx3.interplay.com in DNS).

Should I just ignore this? The idea of someone sending a virus-laden message supposedly from me is kind of troubling.
-- David
Jeff G.
Please post the bounce (without the payload) in spamcop.spam and refer to it here. Thanks!
shochat
Done.
Posted in spamcop.spam with subject "Bogus bounce" 9:57:15 PM EST. No actual payload in the bounce I received. It was supposedly cleaned.
jefft
QUOTE(shochat @ Jan 30 2004, 09:35 PM)

Should I just ignore this? The idea of someone sending a virus-laden message supposedly from me is kind of troubling.
-- David

It's very common. Most viruses forge the return address of someone else when they send themselves out. That's why most responsible ISP's no longer send virus notifications to the alleged virus senders.

JT
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.