Dear Developers and responsible Administrators of SpamCop,
we have a problem with you. Usually we do like AntiSpam Systems, thats why we use since years several machanisms (recpt verify, sender verify, spf, no relay but for authed and own domains, blacklists, ...).
But sum Blacklists dont do their job correctly.
FIRST; i think you agree that it is important that no IPs should be enlisted where is no evidence.
SECOND; you may agree also to the fact that it is not the ISPs job to read the mails of his customers (btw: it is forbidden by law)
this gives us:
IF someone "reports" spam, before YOU enlist any IPs (and disturbing by this our business by publishing wrong unproven information), its YOUR job - at least - to:
- contact or forward the evidence to the postmaster/hostmaster or at least to the abuse contact email enlisted in the ROLE for the network (e.g. RIPE).
- coorperate with the postmasters u blaim!
Now something from the reality u practice:
suddenly we did get aware that our main mailserver was enlisted (84.254.70.21) for sumthing u call "trap", what ever YOU understand by that.
You did NOT notify us about the enlistment.
You did NOT give us any evidence or samples what where when has been done by who.
As far as we know there is no spam send by us at any time. If u have other information - notify us AND send us copies of ur "evidence". Just logical, since WE need those to put it down to ONE person whoever was it. However, right now our Statement is that we never sent out any spam.
WE DO ONLY relay for OUR domains
WE USE for ALL domains SPF
WE USE blacklists
ONLY AUTHED customers may send mails
ALL MAILS are filtered by hourly updating viruswalls
ALL MAILS are processed by spamassassin
ALL MAILS (incoming and outgoing) are checked for correct and valid envelope-from
No Offense, but meanwhile we get really upset since this is a repeating event every year. We expect to be informed and getting all neccessary evidence which helps US (not YOU) to investigate potential spammers.
best regards
Simon
PS: postmaster[at]polynaturedesign.com hostmaster[at]polynaturedesign.com or just abuse[at]polynaturedesign.com if you cant use whois
