Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: my server's ip isn't blocked, and niether is my IP
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
calebj
Hello,
I got this message and contacted my mail provider and they said that the IP listed is not the IP used for the mail server. I checked my personal IP on my internet connection, and it's not the one listed in the email as being blocked. Here's the message I got:

SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com [64.151.57.XX]:
554 Service unavailable; Client host [216.180.231.XX] blocked using bl.spamcop.net;
Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?216.180.231.XX

is this just a server my mail passes through at some point? How can I attempt to contact the owner of this IP? Thanks!
Wazoo
I'll say the same thing .... an IP address does not include letters as seen in your example. The assumption is that you did that on purpose, but if that's the case, let me point out the obvious .... with those last numbers removed, trying to track down the "owner" of that IP address is pretty much a waste of someone's time on this side of the screen.

If you want to see if your e-mail goes through this server, send yourself an e-mail somewhere else and check the headers of that received e-mail.
calebj
my fault,
here is the full link...
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?216.180.231.10

like I said, the ip isn't mine or my server's and I checked my firewall logs to see if any external source was hitting port 25 like spamcops suggested, but didn't find anything. Just thought I would add that in case anyone was wondering
agsteele
QUOTE(calebj @ Feb 7 2006, 08:22 AM)
my fault,
here is the full link...
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?216.180.231.10
*

This server is listed having sent mail to spam traps. It should de-list shortly.

However, without seeing the specific headers it is hard to say where the issue arises. For whatever reason the receiving ISP sees this IP address as the source of the message(s) you're sending and says, in effect: 'Sorry, I don't want to receive Email from you at this time.'

Can you provide your SMTP server IP address?

Andrew
Miss Betsy
IIWY, I would ask host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com who is the one blocking you, why they sent you that message.

Apparently some server admins are not careful about the message that they send when blocking. Usually, when the IP is not on the spamcop bl, it is because the server admin is using the spamcop message as a generic message for whatever he is blocking with other lists or hir own list. This message doesn't quite fit that scenario. I am not a server admin so I don't know whether the message could contain the same IP address no matter who gets it.

However, the person who knows why the message was sent is host mail.firstbaptistraytown.com and they might be able to shed some light on what is going on.

The way to find out who belongs to an IP address is to go to www.arin.net and enter the IP address in the whois search.

This is the information I got

OrgName: Global Net Access, LLC
OrgID: GNAL-2
Address: 55 Marietta St, NW
Address: Suite 1720
City: Atlanta
StateProv: GA
PostalCode: 30303
Country: US

ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.gnax.net:4321

NetRange: 216.180.224.0 - 216.180.255.255
CIDR: 216.180.224.0/19
NetName: GNAXNET
NetHandle: NET-216-180-224-0-1
Parent: NET-216-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: DNS1.GNAX.NET
NameServer: DNS2.GNAX.NET
Comment: Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
Comment: Comment: ********************************************
Comment: Comment: Reassignment information for this block is
Comment: Comment: available at rwhois.gnax.net port 4321
Comment: Comment: ********************************************
RegDate: 2002-06-19
Updated: 2004-02-06

OrgAbuseHandle: ABUSE745-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-404-230-9150
OrgAbuseEmail: abuse[at]gnax.net

Again, I don't see how that will help you find out why firstbaptistraytown.com did not accept your email.

Miss Betsy
Jeff G.
"216.180.231.10 not listed in bl.spamcop.net"

Report History for 216.180.231.10 shows 10-20 hits, all to Spamtraps.

What outgoing email server (SMTP) Name or IP Address do you have configured in your email software? Thanks!
calebj
Well it looks like it's been delisted, which is good. I'm sending an email to the address that was giving me the blocked error to see if it bounces back. My SMTP server ip is 72.9.255.186 for those wondering
dra007
Looks like the newest reports for that IP date back to December last year:

QUOTE
Report History:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Monday, December 19, 2005 7:35:01 PM -0500:

1592262231 ( http://www.bronxtel.net ) To: abuse-isp[at]covad.com
1592262229 ( http://microsoftwvworksf4lp2938k4l6txxa2ffskxff... ) To: cnc-abuse[at]abuse.sprint.net
1592262228 ( http://extremediscountcomodcyt0chbduxk661boo1bo... ) To: cnc-abuse[at]abuse.sprint.net
1592262226 ( http://microsoftwvworksf4lp2938k4l6txxa2ffskxff... ) To: postmaster[at]china-netcom.com
1592262225 ( http://extremediscountcomodcyt0chbduxk661boo1bo... ) To: postmaster[at]china-netcom.com
1592262223 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1592262222 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 9:43:48 AM -0500:

1584999634 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 9:43:11 AM -0500:

1584999721 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Tuesday, December 13, 2005 8:23:13 AM -0500:

1585181260 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1585181235 ( 72.9.255.186 ) To: abuse[at]gnax.net


There is however some disturbing history of abuse from Global Net
http://groups.google.com/groups?scoring=d&...C+group:*abuse*
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.