I run a website, http://dramatis-personae.com, with an adjacent forum run on phpBB2. One of my users, Honomala, is consistantly having mail bounced back to me because of SpamCop. This is the lastest one, received by me just today:
This is the Postfix program at host spunkymail-a9.dreamhost.com.
I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.
For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.
The Postfix program
<**email removed**>: host mx1.wmis.net[216.109.194.81] said: 554 5.7.1 Service
unavailable; Client host [208.97.132.62] blocked using bl.spamcop.net;
Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml?208.97.132.62 (in reply to
RCPT TO command)
With a copy of the email as an attachment. The email is a regular auto-notification that he has a new Private Message on the board. He has been a regular member of my boards for a year now, but this problem only began a few weeks-- maybe a month-- ago. When it first started, I contacted him asking for an alternate email address, then upon closer inspection told him his spam blocker was blocking us. He sent the following:
It's a spam service through my ISP, so I'm not sure what program they use. Weird thing #1 is that I should be able to view your message on a Web site and decide if I want to trash it or send it along; it shouldn't just be blocking it outright like that. Weird thing #2 is that alanna[at]dramatis-personae.com is on the Approved Senders list, so anything you send should just get forwarded along. Are you using a different address that I should also add to the approved list?
As far as I know, all the auto-mail from the baords come from the alanna[at]dramatis-personae.com address. It should be the same server as my regular mail that I send personally through that address.
I checked the FAQ and my blocked IP's status. The status page said I was being blocked due to "misdirected bounces," but this message is not, as far as I can tell, being bounced from anywhere except my user's mailbox. It also said there were five other complaints of this nature. From my (albeit limited) understanding of the explanation of mail bounces, it said this error occurs because someone sends an email that cannot be delivered and then the autoreply saying it could not be delivered is sent to the wrong address, causing the autoreplier to then be blacklisted? If I'm not understanding properly, if someone could please clarify I'd appreciate it.
I'm not a spammer. Any user can turn on or off the email notification option quite easily. So why am I listed as one? I searched the forum for phpBB and didn't see anything related to a bug associated with phpBB autonotifications.
Any advice is welcome before I try the "contact a person" option.
