QUOTE(garyorman @ Sep 11 2006, 12:31 AM)

I am extremely upset and annoyed with this spamcop nonesense.
So you barge in, ranting and raving, making outlandish claims, threatening legal action, spouting out many wrong facts .... and expect exactly what in return?
QUOTE
I am based in Thailand and my colleague is currently in South Africa, recruiting staff for our business in Asia. All our communication with candidates and new employees are by email and recently I have discovered that some people cannot receive email because the mail server is being blocked by spamcop.
Right off the bat, wrong fact number one .... SpamCop.net cannot "block your e-mail"
QUOTE
I hate spam as much as the next man, but this overzealous 'solution' has gone too far. I wrote to one candidate urgently to stop him flying from Cape Town to Johannesburg for the interview, but he didn't get his email. When I discovered this, I tried to call him on his cell phone but he was already boarding and I won't be able to reach him until it's too late. I'm wondering whether he will have a legal case against spamcop?
Your timing sucks, huh? It sounds like there's even more to the story, but ....
QUOTE
The spamcop website is horrendously confusing, obviously designed by technical people. Most of the people who use email are regular people who have no idea what a 'mail server' is or even and 'IP address'.
???? There isn't that much data actually seen at the www.spamcop.net site, unless you actually try to use the Help link and try to read the 'official' FAQ there. Is this the site you are talking about?
On the other hand, you made it 'here' ... where in addition to a single-page-access-much-expanded version of the
SpamCop FAQ .. we also offer a Dictionary, a Glossary, and that's not to mention the Pinned entry extracted from 'that' FAQ as a stand-alone document that attempts to explain "Why am I Blocked?" .. from all appearances, you jujmped right over all of this available data/help.
QUOTE
SMTP error from remote mail server after MAIL FROM:<consultant[at]fcinasia.com> SIZE=5623:
host mail.telkomsa.net [196.25.211.150]: 553 sorry, your mailserver [206.123.101.27] is rejected by See
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml xxxx[at]absamail.co.za
SMTP error from remote mail server after initial connection:
host smtpserv.absamail.co.za [196.35.40.11]: 553 Your IP address 206.123.101.27 is blackholed by bl.spamcop.net.
This is all that was actually needed ....
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...=206.123.101.27206.123.101.27 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 9 hours.
Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Appearances definitely lean towards a real spam spew problem ...
Listing History
In the past 2.6 days, it has been listed 3 times for a total of 2.1 days
Other hosts in this "neighborhood" with spam reports
206.123.101.20 206.123.101.21 206.123.101.24 206.123.101.29
And the neighborhood doesn't look all that healthy either ...
http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...=206.123.101.27Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day ......... 4.3 .. 2140%
Last 30 days ... 3.4 ... 188%
Average ......... 2.9
Ouch!!!! These types if numbers are almost always indicative of a spammer abused e-mail server ....
Parsing input: 206.123.101.27
host 206.123.101.27 = server007.hostspectrum.com (cached)
host 206.123.101.27 = server007.hostspectrum.com (cached)
Routing details for 206.123.101.27
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 206.123.101.27 : noc[at]kcquest.com
Using abuse net on noc[at]kcquest.com
abuse net kcquest.com = postmaster[at]kcquest.com, abuse[at]yipes.com
Using best contacts postmaster[at]kcquest.com abuse[at]yipes.com
These folks would have received the reports ... have you talked to any of them yet?
Wondering about the Thailand, South Africa, Asia connection, but referencing an address associated with;
OrgName: Colo4Dallas LP
OrgID: COLO4
Address: 2000 Irving Blvd
City: Dallas
StateProv: TX
PostalCode: 75247
Country: US
NetRange: 206.123.64.0 - 206.123.127.255
CIDR: 206.123.64.0/18
NetName: COLO4-BLK1
NetHandle: NET-206-123-64-0-1
Parent: NET-206-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.COLO4DALLAS.NET
NameServer: NS2.COLO4DALLAS.NET
Comment:
RegDate: 2004-04-14
Updated: 2004-11-15
OrgTechHandle: NOC1718-ARIN
OrgTechName: NOC
OrgTechPhone: +1-214-630-3100
OrgTechEmail: support[at]colo4dallas.com
OrgName: KC Quest, LLC
OrgID: KQL
Address: 6701 W. Douglas
City: Wichita
StateProv: KS
PostalCode: 67209
Country: US
NetRange: 206.123.100.0 - 206.123.103.255
CIDR: 206.123.100.0/22
NetName: KQL-COLO4-100704
NetHandle: NET-206-123-100-0-1
Parent: NET-206-123-64-0-1
NetType: Reassigned
NameServer: NS1.KCQUEST.COM
NameServer: NS2.KCQUEST.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2004-10-07
Updated: 2004-10-07
OrgTechHandle: NOC1469-ARIN
OrgTechName: Network Operations Center
OrgTechPhone: +1-316-409-9963
OrgTechEmail: noc[at]kcquest.com
QUOTE
1. Please, as a matter of urgency, can someone help me to unblock the mail server (my IP address is 206.123.101.28 by the way, not 206.123.101.27 - so spamcop must be a severe anti-mail system indeed!)
Funny, the only information actually provided is the rejection notice you say you received .... hard to guess from this side of the screen as to how the wrong IP address could get into the picture .... on the other hand, what might you mean by "my IP address" ..???? Neither IP address matches the IP address you used to post here ...????
http://www.senderbase.org/search?searchString=206.123.101.28 doesn't really indicate any noticable e-mail traffic ....
QUOTE
2. What can be done to prevent spamcop from so aggressively blocking legitimate mail?
????? SpamCop.net cannot "block legitimate e-mail" .... Try doing a bit more research, especially on the part where SpamCop.net does not recommend the use of the SpamCopDNSBL in a "blocking fashion" .. noting that this is something under the "receiving ISP's control" .....
QUOTE
I would suggest either to give mail the benefit of the doubt unless there has been a considerable number of complaints (over 1,000 say) against the mail sender - and not necessarily the mail server, which might be shared by many virtual accounts. Alternatively, a direct phone service where you can contact a support representative to unblock the mail server manually, and place your server on a white list. Another suggestion might be for blocked emails to be routed via a spamcop mail server so that the technicians can verify the emails for themselves and see that they are not spam.
Yeah right .... facts all off-base, no concept on what is actually happening, but willing to offer ideas that are simply out of this world .... The SpamCopDNSBL does in fact operate on a math model comparing the amount of traffic "seen" and the compalints/spamtrap hits ... explained in the
SpamCop FAQ .... this list is "automatic" .. manual intervention is extremely rare, based on an ovbious screw-up somewhere (and the numbers seen above pretty much rule out any mistake in this situation) .... "re-routing via a spamcop server" implies that SpamCop.net actually handles your e-mail .. repeat .. SpamCop.net can not "block your e-mail" ....
QUOTE
I would prefer that spamcop be switched off completely. It's probably not going to happen though. I still get spam and I deal with it by placing spam (fairly aggressively) into a spam folder, keeping my white list updated, and scanning spam mail at the end of each day for legitimate messages.
Unfortunately, spamcop doesn't even give the recipient the choice whether to accept or reject messages or not. That's what makes spamcop in some ways worse than the spammers.
I'm sure the spammers hate spamcop, but I - as a legitimate email user - am beginning to hate spamcop even more, and I am now loath to use any kind of service that is in any way similar to spamcop. It annoys and inconveniences people and can seriously affect business and livelihoods.
Basically, your ignorance is showing. That can be cured by doing some actual research. Try the SpamCop FAQ 'here' ... read some of the previous Topics/Discussions in existance 'here' ... use some of the other tools placed 'here' for your benefit .... talk to "your ISP" ... talk to the "receiving ISP" ...
The SpamCop DNSBL is only a list .. how it's used is not under SpamCop.net's control ....