QUOTE
hostedsolutions.com' post='48090' date='Sep 20 2006, 03:33 PM']
We have a Plesk shared email and hosting server at 216.27.30.250 that has been listed 3 times in the last 5 days. We thought we had indentified the source of the spam by correlating some reports sent by AOL's white list but we were re-listed twice since the last AOL report. The server hosts several hundred customers and domains making it difficult to identify the particular customer that sent the spam. We've verified that the IP address is not an open relay and its not located on any other block lists.
We would like to identify the domain that the mail was sent from or the spamvertised site in the email so we can correct the problem or suspend the account.
We've sent three requests via the web form asking for any assistance or information that the administrators can provide and but have not received a reply yet.
We would appreciate any assistance in identifying the offending customer so we can get the IP address off the block list.
Thank you.
Simon Campbell
Hosted Solutions
Spam Cop Report:
216.27.30.250 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 16 hours.
Causes of listing
* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
* System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available
Listing History
In the past 5.8 days, it has been listed 3 times for a total of 41 hours
We have a Plesk shared email and hosting server at 216.27.30.250 that has been listed 3 times in the last 5 days. We thought we had indentified the source of the spam by correlating some reports sent by AOL's white list but we were re-listed twice since the last AOL report. The server hosts several hundred customers and domains making it difficult to identify the particular customer that sent the spam. We've verified that the IP address is not an open relay and its not located on any other block lists.
We would like to identify the domain that the mail was sent from or the spamvertised site in the email so we can correct the problem or suspend the account.
We've sent three requests via the web form asking for any assistance or information that the administrators can provide and but have not received a reply yet.
We would appreciate any assistance in identifying the offending customer so we can get the IP address off the block list.
Thank you.
Simon Campbell
Hosted Solutions
Spam Cop Report:
216.27.30.250 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 16 hours.
Causes of listing
* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
* System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available
Listing History
In the past 5.8 days, it has been listed 3 times for a total of 41 hours
I am having a similar situation. Three of my web-hosting Ensim servers has been listed multiple times recently. We are getting no reports on this--SpamCop used to provide a sampling in the RBL listing query of what got you listed. Is it really asking too much for SpamCop reps to answer their emails in a timely manner? I have sent three requests asking for help over the past 5 days, and have gotten zero responses from them. So much for their 24-hour response time.
We use SMTP authentication, we've installed mod_security to reduce the likelihood of scri_pt exploits. All I'm looking for is some manner to identify what type of exploit has occurred and possibly which domain it originated from.
Can a SpamCop rep please respond to this thread (or better yet, my emails) so that we know that you are alive and well and actually looking at this stuff? Otherwise, if these types of delays (over 5 days and still no reply) are going to be likely, then I ask that you allow us to delist immediately more than once...or reduce the amount of time it takes to delist automatically. My boss is breathing down my neck wanting to know what I'm doing about this, and all I can tell him is that I've already contacted SpamCop three times already, but haven't heard a thing back. Needless to say, he is not amused.
Please, I require a response--some sort of acknowledgment--ASAP.
Moderator Edit: I find it astounding that thie entire first post of the Topic starter on someone else's issue was quoted in full .. at the end of the Discussion that had much research, data, and answers provided ... yet this "query" offered up exactly zero details on just what was impacted in this "similar problem" .... as none of the follow-on posting to "this" query has any relationship to the specifics of the original Topic .. this post and subsequent discussion were split out into its own Topic/discussion.
