Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: delist reverse dns look up
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
bgorman
Hello,

My ip address was blacklisted today due to a virus that one of our workstations was infected with overnight. We corrected the problem AND inserted a firewall rule that prohibits all outgoing connections to port 25 except from our mail server. This should help with the worms that are not looking for a Relay and have their own smtp engine. Since the problem is corrected, I was going to see what I can do getting our IP "delisted" ..

Looking at the URL provided to me by a bounced email :

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=72.4.45.114

I can see that there is a provison for quickly and manually delisting our address. The only problem is that the reverse lookup on our ip address is 72-4-45-114.c029889.jaxnet.net. Our ISP does not provide us with DNS services for our domain so we had to go with a third party DNS provider.

In my relative universe, 72.4.45.114 should reverse-resolve to davidsontitles.com which, if you do a whois, will list it[at]davidsontitles.com as our technical contact email address. Instead, it resolves to that crappy ISP auto generated dns name and your system will only send the delist confirmation email to the listed contacts for jaxnet.net, our ISP.

I wouldn't think this would be an "exceptional condition" and any thoughts or help on the subject would be appreciated.

Brian Gorman
IT Manager
Davidson Titles, Inc.
1-800-433-3903
turetzsr
Hi, Brian,
...A quick, although unofficial answer, is that "exception conditions" would normally be handled by the SpamCop Deputies, whom you can reach via e-mail at deputies[at]admin.spamcop.net. Please be sure to include all relevant information in your e-mail, including some evidence that you are, indeed, the appropriate person to receive administrative notices regarding this IP address.
...You may wish to await further, more knowledgeable replies, from other contributors.
...Good luck!
dra007
Some moderators would come by and suggest a course of action, but meanwhile you oughtta e-mail the deputies<at>spamcop.net and explain your situation.
Wazoo
Just a point of reference ... it may be a bit early ....
http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...ing=72.4.45.114
Volume Statistics for this IP (1753 GMT -5)
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day ........ 3.4 .. 15541%
Last 30 days .. 1.7 ..... 247%
Average ........ 1.2

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=72.4.45.114
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 14 hours.

It'd be nice to see that top number drop (drastically) before getting too worked up ....
This is one of the data points that would be looked at by the Deputies, so ignoring all the other possible issues, this would be pretty much an "ignore this for now" scenario, as it's not seen even from this perspective that the 'issue' is resolved ..... (not speaking for the Deputies)

Numbers are still going up .... 1757 GMT -5
Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day .........3.4 .. 15542%
Last 30 days .. 1.7 .... 247%
Average ........ 1.2
Wazoo
0900 GMT -5
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=blcheck&ip=72.4.45.114
72.4.45.114 not listed in bl.spamcop.net

http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...ing=72.4.45.114
Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day ........ 3.4 .. 13147%
Last 30 days .. 1.8 ..... 234%
Average ........ 1.3

I've seen others count down much faster when the flow was actually stopped, but at least it is showing a downturn .....
Merlyn
8 hours since last post....

Looks like this IP still has a lot of problems, still sending massive amounts.

Last day 3.4 12796%
Last 30 days 1.8 234%
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.