I know there's a 14 page thread regarding the happy relationship between Yahoo and Spamcop, but do forgive me if I haven't read all of it...
So my web host (which is also my email provider) uses the Spamcop BL, and this is causing legitimate mail from Yahoo groups to bounce. Tech support basically said there was nothing much they could do, since the problem is with Yahoo's ip being blacklisted.
Upon further research, I found the following info from this forum and conveyed it to my web host...
Quote:
"But even if a given IP gets added to the SCBL in error, or unfairly, SpamCop isn't doing any blocking. It's the many ISPs who choose to use the SCBL listings as red flags and who configure their mail servers to outright reject any traffic from listed IPs that are going a bit overboard, IMO. They should be using the BL as a way to "tag" possible spam, perhaps putting it into a temporary holding area that's accessible to the end user for review and processing. They should be offering the end user the ability to "whitelist" not just the individual "From" or source IP addresses, but entire systems, such as "returns.groups.yahoo.com" found in the headers, which is what SpamCop does for its email customers."
...to which my web host's tech support replied:
"I tried to find a setting to do this, but there isn't any at this time for exim under Cpanel with their setup. So it is just simple block with bounce message, which in our case is very effective since it also reduces the bandwidth usage by not accepting emails when checking the IP of where it came from."
So my question is, is there anything else I can suggest my web host do, before I go looking for another provider? Thank you.
Solar
