QUOTE(guido90210 @ Oct 9 2006, 12:18 AM)

One of my organisation's two MXes (203.2.32.108) has been listed in the SpamCop blacklist today, apparently for sending misdirected bounces, according to the lookup tool on the SpamCop website.
http://spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=203.2.32.108203.2.32.108 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 0 hours.
Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
It appears this listing is caused by misdirected bounces. We have a FAQ which covers this topic: Why auto-responses are bad (Misdirected bounces). Please read this FAQ and heed the advice contained in it
Listing History
System has been listed for less than 24 hours.
http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...ng=203.2.32.108Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day ......... 4.1 .. 173%
Last 30 days ... 3.7 ... -0%
Average ......... 3.7
Can you justify that last day incease?
QUOTE
It's true - that server does send bounced email. It sends bounced email for unknown recipients, and for over-quota local users. We also use vacation messages. I don't yet have recipient whitelisting set up on our MXes, and don't use SPF or DKIM. I'd like to do these things, but I'm a Unix administrator, and email administrator is one of the many hats that I wear. Anyway...
You've pretty much covered the entire gamut of 'bad' stuff .... stuff that was fine until the spammers started abusing it a few years ago ...
QUOTE
I'd like to know if it's possible to find out exactly which bounces are causing me to get into the SCBL? Is there a web-based interface to do this? Also, can I find out if there are any user reports that have been lodged for this box?
That's a bit of a bad question based on the data showing at
http://mailsc.spamcop.net/sc?track=203.2.32.108Parsing input: 203.2.32.108
host 203.2.32.108 = atom.scu.edu.au (cached)
host 203.2.32.108 = atom.scu.edu.au (cached)
Routing details for 203.2.32.108
Cached whois for 203.2.32.108 : mpowell[at]alsvid.une.edu.au
Using last resort contacts mpowell[at]alsvid.une.edu.au
mpowell[at]alsvid.une.edu.au bounces (19 sent : 10 bounces)
Using mpowell#alsvid.une.edu.au[at]devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.
Statistics:
203.2.32.108 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
More Information..
203.2.32.108 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org
203.2.32.108 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org
203.2.32.108 not listed in cbl.abuseat.org
203.2.32.108 not listed in dnsbl.sorbs.net
203.2.32.108 not listed in relays.ordb.org.
No valid email addresses found, sorry!
There are several possible reasons for this:
The site involved may not want reports from SpamCop.
SpamCop administrators may have decided to stop sending reports to the site to prevent listwashing.
SpamCop uses internal routeing to contact this site, only knows about the internal method and so cannot provide an externally-valid email address.
There may be no working email address to receive reports.
Add this to the "ignore the FAQ" scenario and you have a mess in our hands. Spamtrap data is not handed over freely, and the public availability of this data was removed due to spammers working and abusing the system ... How to ask for any 'official' help is covered in the FAQ ....
The only data available 'here' would be;
CODE
Report History:
Submitted: Sunday, October 08, 2006 11:05:31 AM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1957207419 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Sunday, October 08, 2006 5:40:34 AM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1956812423 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Sunday, October 08, 2006 1:13:51 AM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1956558581 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Saturday, October 07, 2006 8:38:40 PM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1956325633 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-------------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Saturday, October 07, 2006 2:56:04 PM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1955995970 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
---------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Friday, October 06, 2006 1:22:53 PM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1954406282 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Friday, October 06, 2006 12:54:55 AM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1953454793 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Friday, October 06, 2006 12:37:12 AM -0500:
Returned mail: see transcript for details
1953436497 ( 203.2.32.108 ) ( UUBE ) To: uube[at]devnull.spamcop.net
QUOTE
Finally, a bit off-topic, but what measures would the gentle readers suggest for reducing bounces, other than recipient whitelisting, SPF and DKIM?
You're pretty much wasting everyone else's time if you're not going to look at the FAQ, look at the same ground covered in countless previous discussions, etc., etc., etc. Reject at SMTP receipt if you are not going to actually deliver the e-mail to a local user.