Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [Resolved] "Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net" but still not in block lists
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
Sakuritz
Hello everyone,

Maybe someone could help me with this topic...Last week i sent a mail and i received a report as the following:

Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:

Recipient address: carrieta[at]marketinglogistico.com
Reason: Server rejected MAIL FROM address.
Diagnostic code: smtp;501 5.7.1 <clara.sierra[at]ingeneo.com.co>... Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net
Remote system: dns;mail.marketinglogistico.com (TCP|10.158.103.4|53348|72.18.135.177|25) (mail.viper.dnsracks.com ESMTP Exim 4.5; Thu, 12 Oct 2006 09:54:42 -0600)


I went and lookup for my IP address at spamcop blocklist but it said that it wasnt listed there...And i've lookup for my address in lots of blocking list around the web, but nothing important comes up (just some warnings).

Anyway, this report keeps coming to my inbox when i mail to ONE specific recipient....Can someone Help me? my IP Address is : 200.75.67.70
Farelf
QUOTE(Sakuritz @ Oct 19 2006, 05:28 AM) *
...Last week i sent a mail and i received a report as the following:

Your message cannot be delivered to the following recipients:

Recipient address: carrieta[at]marketinglogistico.com
Reason: Server rejected MAIL FROM address.
Diagnostic code: smtp;501 5.7.1 <clara.sierra[at]ingeneo.com.co>... Sender refused by the DNSBL bl.spamcop.net
Remote system: dns;mail.marketinglogistico.com (TCP|10.158.103.4|53348|72.18.135.177|25) (mail.viper.dnsracks.com ESMTP Exim 4.5; Thu, 12 Oct 2006 09:54:42 -0600)
I went and lookup for my IP address at spamcop blocklist but it said that it wasnt listed there...And i've lookup for my address in lots of blocking list around the web, but nothing important comes up (just some warnings).
You are sending as clara.sierra[at]ingeneo.com.co? In that case, the IP blocked is 200.13.249.115 and, unfortunately that is listed - http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...=200.13.249.115
QUOTE
200.13.249.115 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 12 hours.
Causes of listing

* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week

and

In the past 10.6 days, it has been listed 4 times for a total of 2.9 days
Perhaps you can contact the person you are trying to email by another means and ask if they can have their ISP whitelist you.
Farelf
QUOTE(Farelf @ Oct 19 2006, 06:18 AM) *
Perhaps you can contact the person you are trying to email by another means and ask if they can have their ISP whitelist you.
More importantly you should require your mail service provider to do something about stopping the cause of being on the blocklist (spam is being sent from 200.13.249.115). They would know about the problem - SpamCop reports go to abuse[at]epm.net.co for the mail.une.net.co hosted service.
StevenUnderwood
QUOTE(Farelf @ Oct 18 2006, 08:22 PM) *

More importantly you should require your mail service provider to do something about stopping the cause of being on the blocklist (spam is being sent from 200.13.249.115). They would know about the problem - SpamCop reports go to abuse[at]epm.net.co for the mail.une.net.co hosted service.

To give you an idea of what is being reported from that server, here are some of the reports:

CODE
Report History:


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Wednesday, October 18, 2006 11:11:59 AM -0400:
=?Windows-1252?Q?Obligados_Declaraci=F3n_de_Renta_32349?=
1973547329 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1973547299 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Tuesday, October 17, 2006 5:40:52 PM -0400:
=?windows-1252?Q?Obligados_Declaraci=F3n_de_Renta_280130?=
1972396816 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Saturday, October 14, 2006 4:17:54 AM -0400:

1966063154 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1966063133 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Wednesday, October 11, 2006 2:10:12 PM -0400:
=?windows-1252?Q?Correcci=F3n,_Estructura,_Estilo,_P=E1rrafos...?=
1961678220 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Wednesday, October 11, 2006 5:41:22 AM -0400:
La pomadita
1961074901 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1961074894 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Saturday, October 07, 2006 8:14:16 PM -0400:
=?windows-1252?Q?C=F3mo_Ser_M=E1s_Efectivo_--_337511?=
1956256265 ( 200.13.249.115 ) To: abuse[at]epm.net.co
Farelf
At this moment "200.13.249.115 not listed in bl.spamcop.net" however, http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...=200.13.249.115 shows
QUOTE
Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day 5.0 2463%
Last 30 days 4.2 259%
Average 3.6
That is a lot of additional activity which usually/often means spamming. Also the SenderBase display notes "Date of first message seen from this address 2006-10-07". A "young" IP with a bad reputation may find it difficult to stay out of the BL. Note the SC comment when it was last listed "In the past 10.6 days, it has been listed 4 times for a total of 2.9 days" as quoted in the earlier post. The mail service(s) supported by this IP will be frustrating to use because the IP will keep getting relisted until the spam source(s) is/are shut down.
Sakuritz
Hi, thank you. I've now checked SpamCop blacklist and IP is no longer blocklisted, but if i send a mail to those addresses, will it be blaclisted again??? How can i fix this?
Telarin
The listing is not caused by you sending email to those people. The listing is caused because others are using that server to send spam. You cannot fix the problem, only the owner of the server (presumably your ISP) can correct the problem, and they seem to have elected to ignore it instead. You should contact your ISP and complain that you are not getting the service that you are paying for.

From the samples provided by Steven, it is likely that your server will be listed again, and that it will soon be listed on other blocklists which are not as forgiving as spamcop.
Sakuritz
I spoke to our ISP and they told me that, in fact, their server was being used as an "open relay", they fixed the problem yesterday, and now everything is back to normal...thank u all for your comments
agsteele
QUOTE(Sakuritz @ Oct 23 2006, 03:33 PM) *

I spoke to our ISP and they told me that, in fact, their server was being used as an "open relay", they fixed the problem yesterday, and now everything is back to normal...thank u all for your comments

Thank you for taking time to update us and for pursuing the issue with your ISP. Hopefully the problem will remain fixed.

Andrew
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.