QUOTE(StevenUnderwood @ Oct 23 2006, 12:01 PM)

Thank you for trying. Unfortunately, the error message, as you stated, does not provide enough information.
Does your mailserver send directly to the reciving MX server, or does it use your ISP as a smarthost?
If you are unsure, you can send the address in my sig a test message. Please mention "spamcop forum test" in the subject so I don't accidentally report your test. I will then look at the headers, and hopefully have some additional information for you. You could also do the same with an address you control outside of the affected domain (yahoo, home account, etc.).
I wasn't sure.. so I did try sending you an email message, and it bounced back immediately with this error:
<underwood+forum[at]spamcop.net>: host mx.spamcop.net[216.154.195.53] said: 553
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=72.54.21.34 (in reply to RCPT TO
command)
Reporting-MTA: dns; mail.basdensteel.com
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: 307E716A1
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; linda[at]basdensteel.com
Arrival-Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:00:05 -0600 (MDT)
Final-Recipient: rfc822; underwood+forum[at]spamcop.net
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Diagnostic-Code: X-Postfix; host mx.spamcop.net[216.154.195.53] said: 553
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=72.54.21.34 (in reply to RCPT TO
command)
I also sent email to my gmail account, to see the headers, per your 2nd suggestion -- since in both I see the IP address I expected to see, I think it puts that question to rest?
X-Gmail-Received: 0b61c000169b659b9655f98d91ef0f456e7b73e6
Delivered-To: ariel817[at]gmail.com
Received: by 10.78.200.18 with SMTP id x18cs689193huf;
Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:20 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.35.121.12 with SMTP id y12mr5935229pym;
Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:19 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <linda[at]basdensteel.com>
Received: from mail.basdensteel.com ([72.54.21.34])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id r15si1090449nza.2006.10.23.10.59.18;
Mon, 23 Oct 2006 10:59:19 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: neutral (google.com: 72.54.21.34 is neither permitted nor denied by best guess record for domain of linda[at]basdensteel.com)
Received: from [10.1.1.119] (unknown [10.1.1.1])
by mail.basdensteel.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 4391016A1
for <ariel817[at]gmail.com>; Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:00:54 -0600 (MDT)
Message-ID: <453D02ED.8010602[at]basdensteel.com>
Date: Mon, 23 Oct 2006 12:59:09 -0500
From: Linda Webb <linda[at]basdensteel.com>
QUOTE(Wazoo @ Oct 23 2006, 12:09 PM)

The error message you are citing is really bad. As you've already noted, the SpamCopDNSBL does not list e-mail address, just IP addresses. That the error message is so wrong also brings up the possibility of other configuration problems at that receiving server. It may be that the SpamCopDNSBL is pointed to erroneously due to some other BL or local file ....
ns99.worldnic.com reports the following MX records:
Preference Host Name IP Address
10 basdensteel.com 72.54.21.34
10/23/06 12:05:03 Slow traceroute basdensteel.com
Trace basdensteel.com (72.54.21.34) ...
This is your incoming e-mail server .. it is also the same IP address as where you are posting from .... strangely enough, it is also the same IP address that's hosting a web-site ...
Are you sure that this is the same IP address used by your outgoing e-mail?
Wazoo: We are a small'ish company behind a firewall and on a T1 & 1/2 provided by CBeyond. We have an email server and webpage that we host on a Linux server located on premises. I'm not sure, but is it surprising to have it all on the one IP address? Since we do our own webhosting and email hosting, I mean....
QUOTE(Wazoo @ Oct 23 2006, 12:48 PM)

MX lookup returned the same IP address as the web-server which is the same IP address used to post here .. All the "incoming" stuff may be handled in-hopuse, but I'm going alnf the same path as StevenUnderwood .. the outgoing is handled by another server .... (and that server chose to ignore/reject the ICMP traffic in the traceroute I tried .. if I recall correctly, there were 4 steps beyond a Verizon server that failed, the site being the fifth step .. assumption would be that at least one of those was probably a router.)
I see that neither SpamCop.net or IronPort/SenderBase staff have fixed the BL lookup page result issue yet, but
http://www.senderbase.org/search?searchString=72.54.21.34 does show traffic 'seen' from this IP address and 72.54.21.26 ... which is listed in the SPamCopDNSBL ...
http://spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblock&ip=72.54.21.2672.54.21.26 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 0 hours.
Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
DNS error: 72.54.21.26 has no reverse dns
Reports would have gone to abuse[at]cbeyond.net
Report history pretty slim, so must have been the spamtrap hits;
Report History:
-----------------------------------------------------
Submitted: Sunday, October 22, 2006 4:32:46 AM -0500:
heya, this it or no
1978978716 ( 72.54.21.26 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
1978978684 ( 72.54.21.26 ) To: abuse[at]cbeyond.net
noting that
http://www.senderbase.org/search?searchString=cbeyond.net lists two other IP addresses seen as e-mail sourcing ...
Okay, I won't pretend not to be confused... but I do know that the range of public IPs assigned to me by CBeyond is 34-38, so 26 isn't us. I would assume that's a different CBeyond customer.
I have had a problem with AOL user accounts, and CBeyond not providing a reverse lookup (they kicked the problem to me, but I don't believe that even though we are assigned this IP, that we control enough to add a reverse entry, and I think I need to get CBeyond to do something..
That being said, could this error be part of that same problem?
Although, since the error message specifically mentioned SpamCop, you'd think we'd show up here... unless it would be the same error for a missing reverse DNS entry.