Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [Resolved] Blacklisted Help
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
jcp
Hi,

I'm curious as to why I'm being blocked. Here's the ip that is being blocked.

" 207.96.147.110 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)


If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in a short time.

Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)

System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available

Listing History
System has been listed for less than 24 hours. "

We are using POP3 and the email server is not part of the address listed. Our domain is suntv.canoe.ca. Any information is greatly apprieciated , as I'm trying to resolve this problem.

Thank You,
jcp
Telarin
One of the paying reporters will be along shortly to post the actual information from the user reports, however, I also see that you are are listed in SORBS for spamtrap hits as well. The most likely cause would be that your outgoing server (207.96.147.110) is sending misdirected bounces. We'll be able to tell a lot more once another user posts evidence for us.

Is this a shared mailserver, or does it belong to your organization? The name ce110-ia-cnnu-gw01-vl1130.vtl.net seems pretty meaningless, which may indicate that it is a server running at your organization that your ISP hasn't updated PTR records for. If this is the case, I would recommend having the server adminstrator check the logs for unusual traffic or misdirected bounces.

On the other hand, if this is a server belonging to your ISP, they will need to take action to correct the problem so you should contact them directly.
QUOTE
We are using POP3 and the email server is not part of the address listed.

POP3 is for incoming email. SpamCop is only concerned with your outgoing mail server, not incoming.
StevenUnderwood
QUOTE(jcp @ Nov 14 2006, 01:45 PM) *

Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
There is only one report available to paying reporters:
CODE
Submitted: Monday, November 13, 2006 12:13:16 PM -0500:
Your refinance application has been accepted.
2015883714 ( http://www.gonetop.com/ ) To: abuse[at]ctimail.com
2015883670 ( http://www.gonetop.com/ ) To: abuse[at]hkbn.net
2015883614 ( http://www.gonetop.com/ ) To: fionat[at]ctihk.com
2015883522 ( http://www.gonetop.com/ ) To: postmaster[at]ctihk.com
2015883462 ( 207.96.147.110 ) To: spamcop[at]imaphost.com
2015883386 ( 207.96.147.110 ) To: abuse[at]videotron.net
2015883373 ( 207.96.147.110 ) To: customerservice#videotron.ca[at]devnull.spamcop.net


QUOTE(jcp @ Nov 14 2006, 01:45 PM) *

We are using POP3 and the email server is not part of the address listed. Our domain is suntv.canoe.ca. Any information is greatly apprieciated , as I'm trying to resolve this problem.

Your email server may be routing out through that server.
jcp
Thanks Telarin and StevenUnderwood.

My problem has been resolved with the email server provider. They said the remove the Videotron IP off the blocked list, which fixed the problem. They didn't provide any more information.

Another question I have is that this only affected some users and not all. Any insight on this?

Thanks again.

jcp
turetzsr
Hi, jcp!
QUOTE(jcp @ Nov 14 2006, 05:13 PM) *
Thanks Telarin and StevenUnderwood.

My problem has been resolved with the email server provider. They said the remove the Videotron IP off the blocked list, which fixed the problem. They didn't provide any more information.
...Glad to hear of the fix. Thanks for taking the time to let us know! As a result of your having done so, I shall mark this thread as "Resolved."
QUOTE(jcp @ Nov 14 2006, 05:13 PM) *
Another question I have is that this only affected some users and not all. Any insight on this?

Thanks again.

jcp
...If your provider has two or more outgoing mail servers and only one is listed in the SpamCop blacklist, only those e-mails going out the listed server would be affected.
Telarin
Only emails going TO providers using the SCBL for filtering would be affected.
Miss Betsy
I hate to sound pessimistic, but unless someone has dealt with the problem of the misdirected bounces, this server will be listed again. Considering that there was a report from a reporter, it might very well be that some computer has been compromised also. If the server is listed again, the server admin is not going to be able to remove the server from the blocklist so easily.

And if it is still listed in SORBS, there will be people who are going to continue to block emails from that IP address.

Miss Betsy
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.