I have some SC email accounts which use SpamCop Blocklist listings as one factor in filtering messages and redirecting them to a "Held Mail" folder. Like millions of other people, I've downloaded OpenOffice.org software and they occasionally send me emails, but sometimes these messages wind up being diverted to my Held Mail due to SCBL listings of their outbound mail servers. This happened again today, so I logged into my SC Reporting account and looked up the details about the blocked IP (204.16.104.2).
Sure enough, it's currently listed:
QUOTE
204.16.104.2 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 22 hours.
Causes of listing
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Listing History
In the past 161.5 days, it has been listed 8 times for a total of 5.5 days
If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 22 hours.
Causes of listing
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Listing History
In the past 161.5 days, it has been listed 8 times for a total of 5.5 days
So I took a look at the Report History and found these:
QUOTE
Submitted: Thursday, December 07, 2006 9:44:15 AM -0700:
Re: [users] XP Conflicts?
* 2053076906 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Thursday, December 07, 2006 8:47:25 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2053077532 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 2:12:07 PM -0700:
[users] i am using open office ver 2.03 my problem is images not being saved ...
* 2051717035 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 2:10:22 PM -0700:
Re: [users] Openoffice download problem
* 2051718020 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 10:23:42 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2051440483 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 9:03:38 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2051370494 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Tuesday, December 05, 2006 3:01:53 PM -0700:
Re: [users] [moderated] YOU MUST GIVE A SUMMARY HERE
* 2050232641 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Monday, December 04, 2006 10:53:10 PM -0700:
[users] [moderated] YOU MUST GIVE A SUMMARY HERE
* 2049220386 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Re: [users] XP Conflicts?
* 2053076906 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Thursday, December 07, 2006 8:47:25 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2053077532 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 2:12:07 PM -0700:
[users] i am using open office ver 2.03 my problem is images not being saved ...
* 2051717035 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 2:10:22 PM -0700:
Re: [users] Openoffice download problem
* 2051718020 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 10:23:42 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2051440483 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Wednesday, December 06, 2006 9:03:38 AM -0700:
Re: [users] games in Calc ?!?
* 2051370494 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Tuesday, December 05, 2006 3:01:53 PM -0700:
Re: [users] [moderated] YOU MUST GIVE A SUMMARY HERE
* 2050232641 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Submitted: Monday, December 04, 2006 10:53:10 PM -0700:
[users] [moderated] YOU MUST GIVE A SUMMARY HERE
* 2049220386 ( 204.16.104.2 ) To: postmaster#ethereal.net[at]devnull.spamcop.net
The "[users]" denotes the "Users Mail List" at OpenOffice.org, which is mentioned here:
http://support.openoffice.org/index.html
So, I thought, maybe they're not being careful about unconfirmed subscriptions, so I sent an email to the "users-subscribe" address and I then received a "Subject: confirm subscribe to users[at].." message back (had to dig it out of my Held Mail, actually), which demonstrated that the SC users who are submitting those reports were most likely confirmed subscribers to the OpenOffice.org "Users" mail list and have been reporting the list messages they are receiving as if they were spam. This is why that IP is currently blocked and I contend that it's due to misreporting on behalf of those users. If they want to unsubscribe from the list, they can, but they shouldn't be reporting those messages as spam, and this should be looked into by the Deputies (please?).
I also took a look at the SenderBase stats on the IP and they are benign, and a lookup at the Multi-RBL check (http://www.robtex.com/rbls.html) showed only the SCBL listing.
Regarding the contact info for that IP, yes, I see that there's a problem there preventing SC reports from reaching the responsible parties, but that's a secondary issue...the reports probably shouldn't have been generated in the first place.
The SpamCop BL is a useful tool, but not when it's being fed by careless users. I've seen this happen before with list subscriptions, and the denizens here are often quick to defend the SC reporting users. I don't think that reporting messages from a list to which they have willingly subscribed is defensible.
DT
