Thanks, Lking. At the risk of going off-topic, I'd like to expand on my original post. If everybody takes the time to fight spam, maybe we can still kill it and reclaim the net. Maybe. Probably not.
AlgoDyne Ethonol Energy Inc. (ADYN.OB): A stock spam detective story Like most everybody on planet Earth with an email address, I've received hundreds of spam messages touting a company called AlgoDyne Ethonol Energy Inc. (ADYN.OB). Variations of the spam typically say things like, "Alternative energy is a Red Hot sector right now and ADYN is a pioneer! Check the news and you will see that at this very moment they are in negotiations with major Asian investors. They are also in negotiations for partnerships for development of their amazing technology."
More stock spam from planet hellAmazing technology? More like an amazing ripoff. Anyone gullible enough to invest in spamvertized stocks deserves to lose every penny of their investment. Everyone with a brain in their head sees through this endless avalanche of stock spam pump and dump scams.
Let's do some detective work. Let's dig a little deeper. Let's ignore the general spam avalanche for a moment and focus on a company called "AlgoDyne Ethonol Energy Inc." Let's pretend that a company associated with stock spam actually offers something worthy of our trust. Let's pretend that this company is merely the victim of third party money-grubbing spammers... like those jerkoff Russian spam gangs and their global botnets.
An unknown company that claims to honor alternate energy resources and misspells ethanol in its corporate name is immediately suspect. When I saw the words "Ethonol Energy Inc." in the spam, I laughed out loud. Ethanol is spelled e-t-h-A-n-o-l. If you're gonna rip off investors, learn how to spell your core product.
ADYN.OB is the subject of a massive illegal stock spam campaign which includes image-based spam designed to foil spam filters, "normal" text-based spam and related blog comment spam. All spam associated with this firm is in clear violation of several US federal laws.
As if that wasn't bad enough, nothing about this company adds up. Anyone gullible enough to invest in this firm deserves to lose every penny of their investment... and that's exactly what I suspect will happen.
According to official S.E.C. documents, this company was previously named "Eagle Ridge Ventures, Inc." and is supposedly in the business of buying and selling "reclaimed textiles throughout North America." Finding their website requires some determination. Their website appears to be
http://freshlypressedinc.com. The site makes no mention of the name change - and despite various "news" articles and "press releases" floating around the 'net referring to unnamed "Asian Investors" - says nothing about being involved with alternative energy in any manner. If these jerks even have a company, they just sell old clothes.
When I telephoned the firm to ask for a comment about the spam campaign, their voicemail box was full and was not accepting new messages. When I used a WhoIs server to find a registrant email address for their website, messages sent to the "private registration" address bounced with a typical "mailbox full" error.
-----
Registrant:
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: FRESHLYPRESSEDINC.COM
Created on: 14-Dec-04
Expires on: 14-Dec-07
Last Updated on: 14-Dec-06
Administrative Contact:
Private, Registration FRESHLYPRESSEDINC.COM[at]domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599
Technical Contact:
Private, Registration FRESHLYPRESSEDINC.COM[at]domainsbyproxy.com
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
DomainsByProxy.com
15111 N. Hayden Rd., Ste 160, PMB 353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
(480) 624-2599
Domain servers in listed order:
WSC1.JOMAX.NET
WSC2.JOMAX.NET
If you can't contact them, and their misnamed corporate website has nothing to do with the spam campaign claims, how can you possibly trust them with your money? How can you think that they're merely the victim of some unknown third party stock spam scumbag?
Their business address is listed in the state of Washington, but the firm is incorporated in Las Vegas, Nevada. Right. Las Vegas is known the world over as a shining example of corporate ethics. Not.
Nothing here adds up... and I wouldn't trust the firm as far as I could toss an old textile reclaimed shirt. Visit the sec.gov website and search for the name Greg McAdam for more info about this scam.
Address: 301 West Holly Street, D-15, Bellingham, WA 98225 USA.
Phone: 360.820.2620.
Primary State of Incorporation: Nevada.
Officers: Greg McAdam, President/Secretary/Treasurer/Dir.
SIC Number: 5131.
Fiscal Year End: 08-31.
Industry: Retail.
CIK: 1346848.
I've reported all spam received regarding this firm to the S.E.C. and Pinksheets.com. Beware, investors, beware. This firm is clearly a typical example of Capitalism run amok in our fabulous new spam driven digital world.
Greed rules and no one will stop it.