While digging through my Held mail folder (I'm a SC email customer), I stumbled upon an innocent newsletter from a Swedish software developer. It was regarding the free photo gallery software named "JAlbum" and I long ago gave them my email address when I registered my software. I checked why the false positive had happened and found that the sending IP [212.247.178.236] is on the SCBL, and when I looked at the "Report History" for that IP, all I saw were some copies of the same newsletter which I received, which are clearly careless, false reports, the same kind I identified involving the OpenOffice.org newsletters.
Here's a Tracking URL on my copy of the newsletter (note: the spam has been redacted for my privacy because this report was cancelled):
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1219243342z4...898d26819753adz
So, I'll contact the Deputies using the normal address to call their attention to the false reporting of this benign host. But there's a bit of a complication. When I looked up the reason for the listing of the Swedish IP on the SCBL, I saw this:
QUOTE
Causes of listing
* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
So, I did a little more research on the IP, because if it was actually "guilty" of sending to spam traps, you'd think that there's be some other "red flags" somewhere out there.
1. no hits on Google
2. no hits on Google Groups (where the abuse newsgroups are archived)
3. no other positives at the Robtex Multi-RBL check (http://www.robtex.com/rbls/212.247.178.236.html)
4. stats at SenderBase not alarming at all (http://www.senderbase.org/search?searchBy=ipaddress&searchString=212.247.178.236)
So, this adds to my existing suspicions that at least some of the addresses trusted by SC as "spam traps" were in previous use and were given out by their owners for things like software registrations. I've seen other obvious false attributions of spam trap hits before and this sure smells like one. JAlbum has been around for a long time and is used by millions of people. Also, they hardly ever send out any sort of "newsletters" or other communications, making them prime targets for this kind of false positive situation, in that SC reporters (and spam trap address owners) have forgotten that they once willingly supplied their addresses to this nice guy in Sweden, and this is his reward....being put on the SCBL!
I'll notify David Ekholm of this situation, but the harm has already been done, in that his attempt to contact his registered users has been disrupted by flaws in the SpamCop reporting/blocklisting system. You can challenge that if you'd like, but I was right about the OpenOffice situation and I'm convinced this is a similar situation.
DT
