Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: from spamcop[at]devnull.spamcop.net domainkeys fail
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > Mailhost Configuration of your Reporting Account
seafire
Hi

Spamcop was attempting to send me an email, it was a verification of a server addition. My server rejected the mail with the following error:

l2R41fUO082150: Milter insert (1): header: Authentication-Results: tania.servebbs.org from=spamcop[at]devnull.spamcop.net; domainkeys=fail
dk-filter[79619]: l2R41fUO082150: bad signature data

The setup here is FreeBSD 6.1-RELEASE-p10 running sendmail 8.14.0

Any info on why this may be happening would be appreciated.

TIA
Seafire
Wazoo
Based on your "verification of a server addition" description, the assumption has to be made that you are talking about a "MailHost Configuration of your Reporting Account" porcess .... so with this post, this Topic wll be moved to that Forum section ...

Based on the thousands upon thousands of folks that have gone through the process already, it's pretty hard to say what went wrong for you ... expecially without seeing the actual headers imvolved.

This "probe" e-mail is pretty much automatic. My first guess is that DomainKeys isn't actually used, so the 'test' is too strict at your end ... but that's only a guess at this point.
SpamCopAdmin
QUOTE(seafire @ Mar 27 2007, 02:46 AM) *
l2R41fUO082150: Milter insert (1): header: Authentication-Results: tania.servebbs.org from=spamcop[at]devnull.spamcop.net; domainkeys=fail
dk-filter[79619]: l2R41fUO082150: bad signature data
Argh! It looks like we might have a server using a bogus domainkeys signature. I don't know.

Any chance you can tell me which of our servers tried to send you that message? I need that info so I can go to our sysops to see if we're using domainkeys on it. A full copy of the rejection info would be helpful.

Please email me directly with the info: service[at]admin.spamcop.net

In the meantime, try your Mailhost registration again. Maybe a different server will handle it this time and it will go through.

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
seafire
QUOTE(SpamCopAdmin @ Mar 27 2007, 07:35 AM) *
Argh! It looks like we might have a server using a bogus domainkeys signature. I don't know.

Yes, looks like.

QUOTE
Any chance you can tell me which of our servers tried to send you that message?

Just emailed you a complete set of transaction log entries on one bounce; it tells all.

QUOTE
Please email me directly with the info: service[at]admin.spamcop.net

Done!

QUOTE
In the meantime, try your Mailhost registration again. Maybe a different server will handle it this time and it will go through.

That's exactly what happened, it went through.

Best Regards
Seafire
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.