QUOTE(agsteele @ Aug 9 2007, 04:57 AM)

It is your IP address provided by your cable provider that appears to be blocked. But that's why I asked what your outgoing SMTP server name is.
I'm not sure that your outgoing mail server will be coast2coastbusiness.com - at the very least I'd expect mail.coast2coastbusiness.com or smtp.coast2coastbusiness.com but your DNS record shows the MX as mail26.opentransfer.com
So again, I ask for a brief narrative describing the means by which you send mail. Are you using, for example, Outlook Express with an SMTP server name of mail26.opentransfer.com? Or do you have some form of mail server running on the home/office PC - such as Exchange but could be any other mail server program such as Mercury, FTGate, MDaemon, etc etc...?
Have you run the checks to identify whether you have a trojan on one of your PCs? A trojan would also use your PC's IP. I'm of the view that this is the most likely cause.
Andrew
- My outgoing e-mail server is mail.coast2coastbusiness.com (I use MS Outlook)
I was on the phone all day yesterday, calling up the different players: cable provider, ISP, and my business web hosting. Once again they all say they do not even use Spamcop so they don't know why my e-mail was blocked. I reviewed my router settings with them and did checks on two computers (the other two are off, one has been for the last month and the other has been off since Monday.) The one that was off since Monday, I am now told by my teenager, was because it kept having a blue screen on bootup. I'm inclined to think this may have been caused by viruses, trojans, malware and could have been the culprit all along.
I plan to turn off the router, reformat the hard drive, reinstall Windows, then run the Spybot, Adaware, etc.
I am still stumped as to why all of my outgoing e-mail was being blocked when my cable provider, ISP, and webhosting company as they all say they don't use Spamcop?
Thanks for everyone's suggestions, I do appreciate it. Hopefully this is the end to the nightmare.
QUOTE(Wazoo @ Aug 8 2007, 10:04 PM)

http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...g=24.225.62.137Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Last Month
Last day ...... 2.3 .. 119%
Last month .. 1.9
something has changed for the better .. womdering why nothing has been mentioned ...
08/08/07 20:51:21 IP block 24.225.62.137
Earthlink, Inc. ERLK-CBL-TW-MIDSOUTH (NET-24-225-32-0-1)
24.225.32.0 - 24.225.95.255
EARTHLINK, INC ERLK-TW-WILMINGTON17 (NET-24-225-48-0-1)
24.225.48.0 - 24.225.63.255
08/08/07 20:52:18 whois !NET-24-225-48-0-1[at]whois.arin.net
CustName: EARTHLINK, INC
Address: 1375 PEACHTREE STREET, LEVEL A
City: ATLANTA
StateProv: GA
PostalCode: 30309
Country: US
RegDate: 2006-11-16
Updated: 2006-11-16
NetRange: 24.225.48.0 - 24.225.63.255
CIDR: 24.225.48.0/20
08/08/07 20:51:06 Slow traceroute 24.225.62.137
66.185.134.150 RTT: 63ms TTL:170 (RR-Raleigh.atdn.net probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
24.93.64.169 RTT: 51ms TTL:170 (ge-1-3-0.chrlncsa-rtr6.southeast.rr.com ok)
24.93.64.122 RTT: 85ms TTL:170 (pos6-0.wlmgncilm-rtr2.ec.rr.com ok)
24.25.33.185 RTT: 62ms TTL:170 (srp1-1.wlmgncjkv-rtr2.ec.rr.com ok)
24.25.32.22 RTT: 67ms TTL:170 (gig15-0-wlmgncjkv-bsr1.ec.rr.com ok)
* * * failed
* * * failed
* * * failed .. could pretend this is your firewall at work?
So showing here is Earthlink in chatge of the IP Block, Roadrunner handling the 'local' part of the backbone of your Internet connection .. in other places, one would also see AOL in the mix ...
Technically, none of this really matters ... as the issue was with ixwebhosting blocking your attempted connection to their e-mail server, based on the SpamCopDNSBL listing, which was caused by some spew from 'your' IP Address.
coast2coastbusiness.com
ns3.ixwebhosting.com reports the following MX records:
Preference Host Name IP Address
10 mail26.opentransfer.com 76.162.254.26
this your 'incoming' e-mail server at ixwebhosting
Bothers me to have to repeat and explain this to someone that threw the "Microsoft Certified Professional" card .. but ... This is pretty much a match for the 'other' Topic/Discussion, yet you make no mention of trying to wade through that to compare notes, issues, circumstances, and results. The issue of 'caching' .... no one here has a clue as to how ixwebhosting would have their network configured. Apparently they are grabbing the SpamCopDNSBL listing every now and then and caching those results locaaly (just one possibility) .. or they may be hitting a mirror somewhere else that is holding onto an old copy for some reason. This is probably way beyond a Tier-1 droid to have sitting in their scripts.
The point now would seem to be that something was done to stop the spew (or the spammer has moved on?) so the basic problem now is waiting for someone's cache to get renewed ...????
Yes Wazoo, my e-mail began working late yesterday afternoon, about 36 hours or so after being notified that I was blocked. All these explanations seem to border on educated guessing about my web host using an old cached something or other to block me. Why did it happen Saturday then again on Monday? I could see if I was sending "spew" - love the jargon btw - from an address and users who use spamcop reject my e-mail, but to arbitrarily reject all my outgoing legitimate e-mail is far far beyond acceptable. Seems like spamcop has faulty programming.
And fyi, seems that you've never taken a MCP. Unless I was a MCSE I wouldn't have taken anything related to mail servers, Exchange servers, etc., my test covered networking with workstations, servers, and enterprise networks, so you can get off that rant now as it's getting old. I only said that as some people were implying that I didn't even know how to run a virus scan, that's all.