QUOTE(SpamCopAdmin @ Nov 24 2007, 03:29 PM)

Network-abuse[at]cc.yahoo-inc.com has set the "Preferences" on their account here to tell us that they don't want "relay" or "intermediary" reports, which is the type of report you're talking about. They accept all other types of our reports, but not that one. If they want those types of reports, all they have to do is change the "Preferences" on their account here.
Well first off, I forwarded the email to abuse[at]yahoo.com, not Network-abuse[at]cc.yahoo-inc.com, but in every case of an email I receive that has a valid Yahoo.com domain-keys signature, I receive a email telling me that action was taken against that account in accordance with their TOS. If the email has a spoofed yahoo.com email address (ie: the domain-keys is not valid), I am told that no action was taken since the address was spoofed.
I think the main problem is that SpamCop just ignores the fact that the mail was sent from Yahoo's servers and instead focuses on the actual source. The problem with this method is that the Yahoo account is still being used to sent the spam even if the actual spammer was not using Yahoo as his/her ISP. A second problem is that if the user is going through a proxy server, then the reports will go to the proxy server instead of going to either the user's ISP or Yahoo.
In all cases the report should go to Yahoo since that is where the spam technically originates from.
Take for example:
http://www.spamcop.net/mcgi?action=gettrac...rtid=2642118320If you look at the headers you will see that someone at 82.131.144.253 sent spam using his Yahoo mail account. Spamcop correctly identifies as it reports that:
QUOTE
1: Received: from [82.131.144.253] by web57303.mail.re1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:16:11 PST
Hostname verified: 82-131-144-253.pool.invitel.hu
Trusted site mail.re1.yahoo.com received mail from 82.131.144.253
Then based on this information it sends the report to administrator of 89.77.166.230. So far so good. The problem is that SpamCop doesn't seem to realize that the spam isn't being
relayed through Yahoo's servers, but actually being
sent from Yahoo's servers. Instead it reports that:
QUOTE
Sender relay: 69.147.103.233
Routing details for 69.147.103.233
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 69.147.103.233 : network-abuse[at]cc.yahoo-inc.com
Using abuse net on network-abuse[at]cc.yahoo-inc.com
abuse net cc.yahoo-inc.com = abuse[at]yahoo.com
Using best contacts abuse[at]yahoo.com
abuse[at]yahoo.com redirects to network-abuse[at]cc.yahoo-inc.com
The problem here is that according to you, Yahoo is not interested in reports of spam relayed through Yahoo, but in this case the email is
originating from Yahoo, not being relayed through them. They are definitely interested in email originating from Yahoo and they
want all reports of that sent to abuse[at]yahoo.com.
-----------------------
I'll give you a more controlled example with an email I just sent using Yahoo mail's web interface to a Gmail account. I'm connecting to Yahoo's web server from my Comcast ISP, but I could have easily gone through a proxy server. I "x"ed out part of my ip address email addresses for protection.:
QUOTE
Delivered-To: xxxxxx[at]gmail.com
Received: by 10.141.185.7 with SMTP id m7cs21461rvp;
Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:36:15 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.101.70.5 with SMTP id x5mr2341853ank.1196015775531;
Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:36:15 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path: <xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com>
Received: from web34701.mail.mud.yahoo.com (web34701.mail.mud.yahoo.com [209.191.68.150])
by mx.google.com with SMTP id b14si896472ana.2007.11.25.10.36.14;
Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:36:15 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com designates 209.191.68.150 as permitted sender) client-ip=209.191.68.150;
DomainKey-Status: good (test mode)
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com designates 209.191.68.150 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com; domainkeys=pass (test mode) header.From=xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com
Received: (qmail 59896 invoked by uid 60001); 25 Nov 2007 18:36:14 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Date:From:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Message-ID;
b=6QHdakwutGCror7thSUgdlQSejMQGqSZ2G9ZjyhrOWRx+BlgPf4savev/ OCagSRXbdRc55FIiqGkFP2QEavtWrJgcMliJABXWZTec+he69cb5YpSo1zS1mQJ+HIKIz1gkjLvKMhY2
Ai5PWTOI5TtK/43HDntZ1CbjZYJDY02kv4=;
X-YMail-OSG: WgdJl3kVM1m5aQD2z_7X4II9st8ELBItxKu8BMcdR5UZXGbrVtGcoVCoXCfiMhslE2iaf.JJ1Q--
Received: from [76.116.x.x] by web34701.mail.mud.yahoo.com via HTTP; Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:36:14 PST
X-Mailer: YahooMailRC/818.27 YahooMailWebService/0.7.157
Date: Sun, 25 Nov 2007 10:36:14 -0800 (PST)
From: Michael Kraft <xxxxxx[at]yahoo.com>
Subject: this is a test
To: xxxxxx[at]gmail.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Message-ID: <352958.58839.qm[at]web34701.mail.mud.yahoo.com>
hi there
If you parse this message using the SpamCop method a report would be sent to abuse[at]comcast.net, which is the owner of the 76.116.x.x address even though the mail was not sent from Comcast's email servers. The mail was sent from Yahoo's webmail server. So even if Comcast shuts down the users's email account, the Yahoo account used to send the spam is still open. SpamCop never even attempts to send a report to abuse[at]yahoo.com which is where it should actually go.