Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 74.71.225.89 blacklisted
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
Mr jwoody
alright please let me know why its in blacklist and how to correct this. no one can connect to my pc website. i was woundering if its becuase my forums make people register and my pc sends them emails to activate there membership on my site. any information reguarding this will help; thanks.
Telarin
Your IP address is not currently listed in the SCBL, what makes you think it is? However, I do note that you are listed in several lists as a dynamic IP address, which means you won't be able to send mail directly from that IP address to a number of providers. If you are running your own mail server, you need to set it up to route outbound mail through roadrunner's smarthosts rather than trying to deliver it direct to MX.

More and more ISPs are blocking all incoming mail that is being delivered directly from dynamic IP space, as the vast majority of that kind of mail is coming from compromised zombies.
turetzsr
QUOTE(Mr jwoody @ Oct 9 2007, 01:08 PM) *
alright please let me know why its in blacklist
<snip>
If you have a specific question about a section of the FAQ that confuses you, please identify/post that section here with your question and we will attempt to help you understand. If you haven't looked at a FAQ yet, please see the information provided at Why am I Blocked?
QUOTE(Mr jwoody @ Oct 9 2007, 01:08 PM) *
no one can connect to my pc website
...AFAIK, blacklists aren't normally used to keep people from connecting to web sites; they're normally used to decide whether to accept e-mail or to sort or direct the e-mail.
QUOTE(Mr jwoody @ Oct 9 2007, 01:08 PM) *
i was woundering if its becuase my forums make people register and my pc sends them emails to activate there membership on my site. any information reguarding this will help; thanks.
...See SpamCop FAQ article labeled "Am I running mailing lists responsibly? Updated!" (even though the title does not seem to apply to registering for forums).
Merlyn
What makes you think you are/were listed?

BTW: that IP would be blocked as dynamic on our email servers.
DavidT
QUOTE(Mr jwoody @ Oct 9 2007, 10:08 AM) *
alright please let me know why its in blacklist
Simple answer: it's NOT. The IP [74.71.225.89] is only listed on the SORBS dynamic IP space lists because it's a dynamic IP address and shouln't really have a server associated with it. If you do a lookup at SenderBase.org, you'll find that no email traffic whatsoever has been detected. A Google search on the IP you gave us only brings up hits to your gaming server ("RYL: Fire and Ice"). Has RoadRunner given you permission to be running a server on that IP? My cable provider wouldn't allow that.

QUOTE
my pc sends them emails to activate there membership on my site
I think your pc must be sending through another IP address (probably one of RoadRunner's mail servers). Where did you get the idea that SpamCop was at all involved? Also, I was able to go to your server, contrary to the statement "no one can connect to my pc website." There haven't been any spamming reports about your server on SpamCop.

DT
Wazoo
QUOTE(Mr jwoody @ Oct 9 2007, 12:08 PM) *
alright please let me know why its in blacklist and how to correct this. no one can connect to my pc website.

As DavidT states, your set-up is bit absurd.

10/09/07 18:31:40 Slow traceroute 74.71.225.89
Trace 74.71.225.89 ...
24.92.227.10 RTT: 74ms TTL:170 (gig0-2.syrcnyflt-ubr01.nyroc.rr.com ok)
74.71.225.89 RTT: 77ms TTL:132 (cpe-74-71-225-89.twcny.res.rr.com ok)

Definitely not good for a "web server" (that the SpamCopDNSBL would have nothing to do with anyway)

10/09/07 18:32:13 Browsing http://74.71.225.89/
Fetching http://74.71.225.89/ ...
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: 74.71.225.89
HTTP/1.1 302 Found
Date: Tue, 09 Oct 2007 23:31:03 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.4 (Win32) PHP/5.2.1
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.2.1
Location: http://ryl2.game24hrs.com/

OK, a re-direct .....

10/09/07 18:32:57 Slow traceroute ryl2.game24hrs.com
Trace ryl2.game24hrs.com (67.19.72.205) ...
70.87.253.78 RTT: 86ms TTL:170 (po32.dsr02.dllstx4.theplanet.com probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
67.18.116.85 RTT: 83ms TTL:170 (gi1-0-2.car17.dllstx4.theplanet.com probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
* * * failed
* * * failed
* * * failed
* * * failed

Hmm, another 'not good' for a web-server ....

10/09/07 18:33:58 Browsing http://ryl2.game24hrs.com/
Fetching http://ryl2.game24hrs.com/ ...
GET / HTTP/1.1
Host: ryl2.game24hrs.com
HTTP/1.1 301 Moved Permanently
Date: Tue, 09 Oct 2007 23:32:21 GMT
Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.8.28 OpenSSL/0.9.8e mod_gzip/1.3.26.1a
Cache-Control: proxy-revalidate, no-cache
Location: http://74.71.225.89/ryl/

Oh look !!!! Another re-direct !!!!

10/09/07 18:34:52 Browsing http://74.71.225.89/ryl/
Fetching http://74.71.225.89/ryl/ ...
GET /ryl/ HTTP/1.1
Host: 74.71.225.89
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Tue, 09 Oct 2007 23:33:42 GMT
Server: Apache/2.2.4 (Win32) PHP/5.2.1
Last-Modified: Sun, 17 Jun 2007 05:46:01 GMT
<title>RYL: Fire And Ice Server</title>
<embed src="cube.swf" quality="high" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer" type="application/x-shockwave-flash"

Geeze, 'problems' with connecting and then you toss this crap into the mix ...?????
A Thailand Registration address (for game24hrs.com) registered through Yahoo that somehow is supposed to link/feed to a reseidential computer in eastern U.S. ??????
Farelf
Connection to http://74.71.225.89/ seems to be badly affected by load. I looked when most of recreational America was asleep (well, the non-addicted portion) and had no trouble. Googling on a few phrases found while the site was up I came across a forum where members were discussing hosting questions in a quest for the ultimate gaming experience. Whatever is happening with 74.71.225.89 would seem to be in some sense a failed experiment, connecting the dots now. SpamCop is utterly unrelated to the problem.
DavidT
Well...not to anyone's amazement, "Mr jwoody" doesn't seem to have returned to read our responses (at least he didn't log in when doing so). Wonder if his ISP will ever discover his game server arrangement and pull the plug? ;-)

DT
Farelf
Well, the RYL Fire and Ice Server at the address seems to be working fine at the moment so I guess he got some more pertinent advice somewhere and what the ISP doesn't know ... at least that's one server that is unlikely to be used to spam.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.