Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spam Blocks
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Email System & Accounts
dweil
This Morning I received a return email from s.williams[at]stewartmg.com. My email is david.weil[at]jandersonford.com. The email say that our domain is blocked because of spam. As the administrator of Jennings Anderson Ford I am not aware of any spam being sent from our domain. Could you please provide me the source of this allocation and supporting documentation for your actions.

Sincerely,

David Weil
CIO
Jennings Anderson Ford

Here is copy of the email:

A message sent by this account comes from
a domain or host not allowed by this mail server.

Please contact your system administrator or Internet Service Provider, You email server or email address has been put on an SPAM Blocking list the organization below. Contact that organization for instructions on how to correct the problem with your mail server or get your email address removed from their lists.

From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com
To: s.williams[at]stewartmg.com

From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com
To: s.williams[at]stewartmg.com
From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com

Matching List: bl.spamcop.net


The message was dropped.
Merlyn
QUOTE(dweil @ Apr 1 2004, 10:26 AM)
This Morning I received a return email from s.williams[at]stewartmg.com. My email is david.weil[at]jandersonford.com. The email say that our domain is blocked because of spam. As the administrator of Jennings Anderson Ford I am not aware of any spam being sent from our domain. Could you please provide me the source of this allocation and supporting documentation for your actions.

Sincerely,

David Weil
CIO
Jennings Anderson Ford

Resolved jandersonford.com to 136.1.240.194
jandersonford.com has 1 MX record mail.dealeremail.com.(10)
Resolved mail.dealeremail.com to 209.104.154.19

A lookup on mail.dealeremail.com (209.104.154.19) shows you are not listed

209.104.154.19 not listed in bl.spamcop.net

Without an IP address or the bounced message no one will be able to help you.
dweil
Here is the message I received:

A message sent by this account comes from
a domain or host not allowed by this mail server.

Please contact your system administrator or Internet Service Provider, You email server or email address has been put on an SPAM Blocking list the organization below. Contact that organization for instructions on how to correct the problem with your mail server or get your email address removed from their lists.

From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com
To: s.williams[at]stewartmg.com

From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com
To: s.williams[at]stewartmg.com
From: david.weil[at]jandersonford.com

Matching List: bl.spamcop.net


The message was dropped.
Merlyn
The Spamcop list does not contain email addresses but IP numbers and your server is not listed. The block message you are receiving is a very bad message as it gives no clue to the sending server. What smtp server do you have setup in your email client?
dweil
Our SMTP SERVER IS:

SMTP.GVTC.COM
Merlyn
Bingo. That server(216.177.160.80) is listed.

See: http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...p=SMTP.GVTC.COM

Unfortunately there is no evidence showing.

Maybe a deputy will see this thread and check it out.
Wazoo
Time passed, and was hoping that there'd be some evidence showing by now (real-time stats not available these days due to abuse by spammers) .. but no such luck, still no evidence listed. However, going to the next level of data, there is an interesting set of numbers. One could suggest that perhaps your ISP has been doing a great job and has recently picked up some new customers. On the other hand, these numbers might also suggest some compromised systems hanging off their network ... might want to contact them and see if they can come up with the reasons for the apparent increase in traffic ..??

http://www.senderbase.org/?searchBy=ipaddr...=216.177.160.80
Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Average
Last day 4.7 17%
Last 30 days 4.6 -8%
Average 4.7

http://www.senderbase.org/?sb=1&searchBy=d...String=gvtc.com
Report on domain: gvtc.com
Volume Statistics for this Domain
Magnitude Vol Change vs. 30 Day
Last day 4.9 19%
Last 30 days 4.8
Jeff G.
If it was sent now, a SpamCop Report concerning 216.177.160.80 would be sent to "jeikel at gvtc.com" .
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.