Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 65.55.162.187 (hotmail) listed
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
skrieg
Hi there,

The IP 65.55.162.187 is listed by Spamcop (does not resolve).

This IP belongs to Hotmail and is used by hotmail users.

Actually I'M receiving hotmail messages tagged as spam because of this sender IP.

What is Hotmail's policy against blacklist services (such as SpamCop) and RFC's that say that a mail server should resolve to a host? Will this IP address be delisted someday ?
Farelf
Yes, it certainly is listed:

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=checkblo...p=65.55.162.187 and reports go to report_spam[at]hotmail.com (unless Hotmail have asked for reports not to be sent).

Note the other information there - including the automatic de-listing (if it stops sending spam) but it has been hitting spamtraps (bad) and a comparatively large number of reporters and has been doing so for more than two weeks - so the liklihood of it stopping soon does not seem high. That however is up to Hotmail.

Others in the "vicinity" and similarly listed are:

65.55.162.181
65.55.162.182
65.55.162.183
65.55.162.184
65.55.162.185
65.55.162.186
65.55.162.188
65.55.162.189

It looks like Hotmail has lost control of these machines. Perhaps a paying member can show some report evidence which might give some clue as to what is doing on?
agsteele
QUOTE
Causes of listing

* System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
* SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam about 200 times in the past week

Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)

* DNS error: 65.55.162.187 has no reverse dns


Examples of subjects include...


QUOTE
Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 15:56:51 GMT:
Real seex afetr 50? No problmes - usee \/ i a g r /\ Proo.

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 15:42:34 GMT:
CONTACT MY SECRETARY

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 15:42:34 GMT:
CONTACT MY SECRETARY

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 14:48:33 GMT:
[Bulk] hi there

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 14:01:57 GMT:
Yoour woamn wiill be amaezd by yoour ercetionSoft C| a | i...s.

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 11:45:45 GMT:
CONGRATULATIONS!!! Your Email Has Won GBP950,000.00 In The Coca-Cola 2007 Pro...

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 11:26:27 GMT:
SexyLatinMaidSuckingCock

Submitted: Wed, 05 Dec 2007 09:58:44 GMT:
Reailze yuorself as the real pesron with Suepr \/ i a g r /\


No doubt that this ip is a source of spam sad.gif

Andrew
Telarin
My personal experience would indicate that hotmail does little to stem the tide of spam coming from their servers. I strongly recommend against anyone using hotmail. I have had much better luck with a Yahoo! free account than I ever had with a hotmail account. Gmail also has its high points, but their insistence on covering spammers tracks by not including the originating IP address in their email headers has been known to cause users of Gmail grief on more than one occassion.
DavidT
QUOTE(Farelf @ Dec 5 2007, 08:59 AM) *
It looks like Hotmail has lost control of these machines. Perhaps a paying member can show some report evidence which might give some clue as to what is doing on?

No...way to many to list here...pages and pages. People shouldn't use Hotmail if they expect their messages to be delivered reliably.

DT
skrieg
Thank's a lot for all your answers.

This looks pretty clear.

I will advise my friends to use anything but Hotmail.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.