Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 80.58.232.129 listed
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Blocklist Help
El_Marqué
Hello.

I know we're listed almost since last saturday, I think is for some trojans I've found in my net. We all share this ip, 80.58.232.129. So no one can use email. I've been reading a lot of things about how to be listed and unlisted. But maybe you can help me giving me some new information, the only information I have is that the IP is blocked. ¿How can I find the PC that is sending the spam?¿Is there any other form than passing an antivirus once and again?

Maybe I must continue reading, please, tell me the links.

Thanks a lot.

Sorry, I forgot this information:

Causes of listing
System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Telarin
The first thing to do is configure your firewall so that only your actual mail server can send data out on port 25. This is a pretty easy thing to do on most firewalls and will prevent computers that aren't supposed to be directly sending email from doing so. You may also want to check you mail server logs to make sure that none of the messages are actually being sent through that computer.
StevenUnderwood
One other useful source of information: http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queri...g=80.58.232.129

This shows that IP is currently sending ~16000 (10^4.2) messages per day. If that does not sound correct, you definitely have an issue.

You can try to contact deputies[at]spamcop.net and ask them to look at the spamtrap messages. They may provide you with some information about what is going on.

P.S. The senderbase number is still rising... currently at 4.3 = approx 20000 messages.
Farelf
QUOTE(El_Marqué @ Jan 11 2008, 01:53 AM) *
...SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
These reports are passed on to nemesys[at]telefonica.es - any chance of getting those? They may have the detail of the reported spam which could help find out the source. Spam has been coming from that address for over a month.
El_Marqué
Thank you all.

I'll try to do this three things, mapping the router, contacting deputies and contacting nemesys.
Derek T
QUOTE(Farelf @ Jan 11 2008, 01:14 AM) *
These reports are passed on to nemesys[at]telefonica.es - any chance of getting those? They may have the detail of the reported spam which could help find out the source. Spam has been coming from that address for over a month.

<thread hi-jack - moderators move/remove if appropriate>

We paying users used to be able to see the subject lines of reported spam and sometimes help enquirers that way. I've just looked and can't seem to find that feature now. Has it been withdrawn?
Farelf
QUOTE(Derek T @ Jan 12 2008, 06:58 PM) *
...We paying users used to be able to see the subject lines of reported spam and sometimes help enquirers that way. I've just looked and can't seem to find that feature now. Has it been withdrawn?
Yikes - awaiting responses with interest!

Have you looked at other cases Derek? How about 202.108.12.145 (both spamtraps and *lots* of member reports) or 211.99.190.4 (ditto)
StevenUnderwood
QUOTE(Farelf @ Jan 12 2008, 08:43 AM) *

Yikes - awaiting responses with interest!

Have you looked at other cases Derek? How about 202.108.12.145 (both spamtraps and *lots* of member reports) or 211.99.190.4 (ditto)

I still see the subjects.

Original IP (only report shown in last 90 days:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Friday, January 11, 2008 09:42:27 -0500:
SALE 80% OFF on Pfizer
2752147419 ( http://online1.turbotax.com/r/c/r?2.1.3Js.2Xb.1... ) To: postmaster[at]merchantmail.net
2752147417 ( http://intuit.p.delivery.net/m/u/itu/mkt/i.asp?... ) To: postmaster[at]merchantmail.net
2752147397 ( http://effectedge.com/ ) To: spamcop[at]kisa.or.kr
2752147382 ( http://effectedge.com/ ) To: spamrelay[at]certcc.or.kr
2752147372 ( http://effectedge.com/ ) To: abuse[at]hanaro.com
2752147365 ( 80.58.232.129 ) To: nemesys[at]telefonica.es
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Farelf
QUOTE(StevenUnderwood @ Jan 12 2008, 11:14 PM) *
I still see the subjects.

Original IP (only report shown in last 90 days:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Submitted: Friday, January 11, 2008 09:42:27 -0500:
SALE 80% OFF on Pfizer ...
Ah, thanks Steven (though I could have sworn multiple reports were mentioned and the listing time mentioned was 33 days) - but something has worked (off the SCbl):
QUOTE(http://www.senderbase.org/senderbase_queries/detailip?search_string=80.58.232.129)
Volume Statistics for this IP
Magnitude Vol Change vs. Last Month
Last day 0.0..............................N/A
Last month 4.5..........................
?Maybe Telefonica de Espana has simply pulled the plug? Nemesys (love that name) certainly talks tough about network abuse/compromise - "his" standard response includes "In addition, we would like to inform you that we are taking measures to approach the problem in order to prevent it from happening again in the future." Al respecto, le informo que estamos procediendo a tomar las acciones que entendemos pertinentes, para que estos hechos no vuelvan a producirse.
turetzsr
...They seem to have moved on -- to the US Department of State!?!?!!?! http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1608188092z4...bd6431c10ebd41z.
Farelf
QUOTE(turetzsr @ Jan 15 2008, 02:20 AM) *
...They seem to have moved on -- to the US Department of State!?!?!!?! http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1608188092z4...bd6431c10ebd41z.
Heh, and USIS seem to know all about it - fastest I've seen a webservice pulled offline. The actual IP address is still pingable though. Say ... what's that black helicopter doing?
Derek T
QUOTE(Farelf @ Jan 12 2008, 02:43 PM) *
Yikes - awaiting responses with interest!

Have you looked at other cases Derek? How about 202.108.12.145 (both spamtraps and *lots* of member reports) or 211.99.190.4 (ditto)

Sorry folks, false alarm. Tried the above and, indeed, the history link is present and correct.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.