The spam works like this
1) you get an yahoo IM that reads like this
rockykidd841 (1/10/2008 12:49:21 AM): U gotta check this out,BRAND NEW Dating Site !! http://www [dot] 22muchfun[/url] [dot] com
I added the "[dot]" part in case we're not supposed to post links (been a few years since I've been in here
the website 22muchfun autoforwards to a dating or porn site. (site varies, since I'm also been going after the sites, some of whom are major players like singlesnet and true.)
When I first got a spam from 22muchfun I was able to get the registration and the hosting killed.
The spammer then moved over to private domain registration at aplus.net.
22muchfun is hosted in china by scn.com.cn , which I have cc'd on the reports, but they are probably a spammer friend chicom host.
I've complained to aplus.net, and they are claiming that I can't prove 22muchfun is spamming because anyone can send a IM with a website link, and since they are only the register it is not their problem.
But if they are providing 22muchfun with anonymous domain registration, they are providing a service that gives the spammer protection while the spammer is running their bot.net.
They claim the IM are not spam, because you can't prove it came from the spammer seems just wrong. Won't the same logic then mean that web sites advertised in email spam should not be terminated because you can NEVER prove that the party who owns the website is the same as the party who sends the email.
It seems to me that aplus.net is black hat because their policies seem very pro spammer.
Here is the last email I got from aplus.net where the basically tell me its not their problem.
Reported the spams to yahoo, but I think yahoo just ignores them. Even found the site that sells the software to hack yahoo servers to send the spam, and tried to report it to yahoo, and yahoo claims there is nothing they can do (I suspect that yahoo's abuse desk doesn't speak/read English).
I've also having the same issue with Godaddy, which also have a spammer friend private domain registration, they make pretty much the same claims. If you want DG to take action, you have to sue the spammer, and PAY godaddy.
QUOTE
In response to your latest and previous Emails, out Technical Manager has investigated the situation and his response is below.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are several reasons why this is beyond anything we can do. First of all, we do not host the site. The domain is registered with us, but that does not make us liable for the content. It would be up to the hosting provider to deal with this customer. The second thing is that sending messages through yahoo messenger is not SPAM, or at least cannot be proven to be SPAM. This is because I can go and log in to Yahoo and send out a message inviting people to go to microsoft.com. This does not make microsoft.com the spammer, this makes me the spammer. This person needs to contact yahoo and have yahoo take action against the usernames that are sending out such messages. Again, we cannot be responsible for the content of an IM, or for the content of the hosting plan given the fact that we do not have any control over the files. Suspending the domain is also out of the question because we aren't allowed to suspend a domain unless it hasn't been paid. If you'd like more information, I can try to get it, but honestly this isn't our problem, nor is there anything we can do to prevent/stop it.
As far as the privacy, the reason people purchase privacy is so people do not know who owns a domain, regardless of the reason. Ralph can confirm this, but I think we can only provide that information to authorities and certainly not to any person who asks for it. Our customer has paid us to hide this information for him and we are required to do so unless the authorities request that information. This is the policy with every domain registrar, and there are millions of domains that are this way.
Thanks.
Best Regards,
James D.
Technical Manager
Aplus.Net (www.aplus.net) "Everything for your online business"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Therefore, and as I originally communicated to you, there is nothing we can do for you. I agree with James in that your best path is to complain to Yahoo.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
There are several reasons why this is beyond anything we can do. First of all, we do not host the site. The domain is registered with us, but that does not make us liable for the content. It would be up to the hosting provider to deal with this customer. The second thing is that sending messages through yahoo messenger is not SPAM, or at least cannot be proven to be SPAM. This is because I can go and log in to Yahoo and send out a message inviting people to go to microsoft.com. This does not make microsoft.com the spammer, this makes me the spammer. This person needs to contact yahoo and have yahoo take action against the usernames that are sending out such messages. Again, we cannot be responsible for the content of an IM, or for the content of the hosting plan given the fact that we do not have any control over the files. Suspending the domain is also out of the question because we aren't allowed to suspend a domain unless it hasn't been paid. If you'd like more information, I can try to get it, but honestly this isn't our problem, nor is there anything we can do to prevent/stop it.
As far as the privacy, the reason people purchase privacy is so people do not know who owns a domain, regardless of the reason. Ralph can confirm this, but I think we can only provide that information to authorities and certainly not to any person who asks for it. Our customer has paid us to hide this information for him and we are required to do so unless the authorities request that information. This is the policy with every domain registrar, and there are millions of domains that are this way.
Thanks.
Best Regards,
James D.
Technical Manager
Aplus.Net (www.aplus.net) "Everything for your online business"
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Therefore, and as I originally communicated to you, there is nothing we can do for you. I agree with James in that your best path is to complain to Yahoo.
I can understand the need for private domain registration if you are a private party running a domain for personal use. But if someone is running a business (and organized crime is a business, criminal income is taxable as business income), and that business is selling a product or service, it seems down right unethical to offer a service that allows a business to be unaccountable for its actions.
It seems like aplus.net is engaging in willful blindness of its clients criminal acts. I use the term criminal, because yahoo states on its AUP that it considers spamming thru its servers to be a criminal act, and the majority of spammers do seem to be linked to organized crime and gangsterism.
Anyone here have any experience with fight spammers who hide behind anonymous domain registration? My only idea has been to file a false advertising complaint against aplus.net for not honoring its anti-spam policies, and hoping that Yahoo will eventually wake up and do something.
Moderator edit: broke link.
