I have a domain directly registered with nic.ac (lets call it 'mydomain.ac'), and I have also an email account with SpamCop (lets call it 'me[at]spamcop.net'). The nic.ac lets me forward all email addressed to my domain to whatever other email account that I want, so I have it configured to forward all email for mydomain.ac to me[at]spamcop.net. Then, it gets 'cleaned' by SC and, finally, forwarded to my 'real' email (a POP account) given to me by my ISP (lets call it 'me[at]myisp.com'.
Graphically it would be something like this:
(email+spam) --> *@mydomain.ac --> forwarded --> me[at]spamcop.net --> forwarded --> me[at]myisp.com
(the first problem with this configuration is that I'm not able to disable the "catchall" -all gets forwarded to me[at]spamcop.net-, and then there aren't neither a SpamCop tool or configuration that lets me reject or delete automatically the emails addressed to other than to my valid @mydomain accounts, but this is another different issue)
Well, when the nic.ac forwards all my email (and all my spam) to SpamCop, it routes it thru fwd1.icb.co.uk and, when I report the spam from the SpamCop email account, sometimes this machines get 'catched' by the parser as "possible spammer" and reported to postmaster#icb.co.uk[at]devnull.spamcop.net, like in this examples:
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1679392443z7...9cac25543d2470z
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z1668790705z0...6cf4239201fcfcz
In this report you can see the lines
CODE
Received: from th1.icb.co.uk (HELO fwd1.icb.co.uk) (80.249.100.2) by mx71.cesmail.net with SMTP; 20 Feb 2008 23:30:26 -0000
80.249.100.2 found
host 80.249.100.2 = th1.icb.co.uk (cached)
th1.icb.co.uk is 80.249.100.2
Possible spammer: 80.249.100.2
...<snip>...
Possible relay: 80.249.100.2
80.249.100.2 has already been sent to relay testers
Received line accepted
80.249.100.2 found
host 80.249.100.2 = th1.icb.co.uk (cached)
th1.icb.co.uk is 80.249.100.2
Possible spammer: 80.249.100.2
...<snip>...
Possible relay: 80.249.100.2
80.249.100.2 has already been sent to relay testers
Received line accepted
and
CODE
Reports regarding this spam have already been sent:
Re: 80.249.100.2 (Administrator of network where email originates)
Reportid: 2858859269 To: postmaster#icb.co.uk[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Re: 80.249.100.2 (Administrator of network where email originates)
Reportid: 2858859269 To: postmaster#icb.co.uk[at]devnull.spamcop.net
that have me concerned.
I wouldn't like to have icb.co.uk reported. What can I do to avoid this? Is my actual configuration 'problematic', or these parsing details about icb.co.uk are harmless and I can ignore they and continue reporting?
