Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: downforeveryoneorjustme
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > Suggested Tools and Applications
Farelf
I could see http://downforeveryoneorjustme.com/ being useful from time to time, checking connectivity (um ... yes, you can check other domains, not just Google.com). The first time I tried it, it was down. Which promised to become a bit recursive. But now it's up. Hopefully.

In a similar vein, a web-based email checker http://hexillion.com/asp/samples/ValidateEmail.asp (but read the fine print before getting too excited about any supposed address validity).

And a web-based traceroute has been mentioned in its own topic - http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=8216
Farelf
A whole suite of tools and a diagnostic framework to deal with DNS and connectivity issues is suggested at:

http://whirlpool.net.au/wiki/?tag=is_this_site_down
rabsom
really you need to Check thise new ht tp:// down for everyone or just me . net

btw it's beta

regards

Moderator Edit: broke the URL
Farelf
QUOTE(rabsom @ Dec 1 2008, 08:25 PM) *
...btw it's beta
Yes, its certainly newer - and registered from the same part of the world you're posting from. And looks very similar to its namesake. Ah well, "a little competition never hurt nobody," as Scarface Al Capone remarked to Bugs Moran.
Wazoo
QUOTE(rabsom @ Dec 1 2008, 05:25 AM) *
really you need to Check thise new
btw it's beta

The appearances of some sort of highjacking cannot be ignored. Domain Registrations between the .com, .net, and .org do not match. As Farelf noted, the dates are far apart. Registration here by this last user included a gmail.com address, which certainly does not match any of the Domain Registration data. This 'discrepency' is further compounded by the 'need' to Register here to make this post that points to a site other than the original .. yet offering no justification beyond the "btw" comment. This whole 'picture' just looks and smells wrong.

Trace down for every one or just me . net (74.54.132.2) ...
....
70.87.253.14 RTT: 45ms TTL:170 (te9-2.dsr01.dllstx3.theplanet.com probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
70.87.253.114 RTT: 43ms TTL:170 (te1-4.dsr01.dllstx2.theplanet.com probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
12.96.160.8 RTT: 48ms TTL:170 (po1.car06.dllstx6.theplanet.com probable bogus rDNS: No DNS)
74.54.132.2 RTT: 44ms TTL: 50 (testarossa.websitewelcome.com ok)

Of course, I'm not all that impressed with some of the data of the original .com URL ....

Trace downforeveryoneorjustme.com (216.239.32.21) ...
....
209.85.254.120 RTT: 17ms TTL:170 (No rDNS)
209.85.250.110 RTT: 43ms TTL:170 (No rDNS)
66.249.94.92 RTT: 44ms TTL:170 (No rDNS)
72.14.236.134 RTT: 45ms TTL:170 (No rDNS)
216.239.32.21 RTT: 44ms TTL:241 (No rDNS)

NetRange: 216.239.32.0 - 216.239.63.255
CIDR: 216.239.32.0/19
NetName: GOOGLE

Surely the folks at Google know how to set up things like rDNS ...????
DavidT
The ".net" version looks to be not much more than an imitation of the original, created by a young Egyptian with some interests in programming. If you click on the link at the bottom of the page, you can visit his site and learn more. Since there's no sign of copyright claims on the ".com" version, I don't think there's anything wrong with the copy....not sure that the same technology is being used, however, in that the Egyptian site simply does a background "ping" of the domain you enter in the box...not sure if that's the case with the original.

BTW, you can read about the creator of the ".com" version in this NYT article:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/07/06/technolo...l?th&emc=th

DT
StevenUnderwood
QUOTE(DavidT @ Dec 1 2008, 11:23 AM) *

...not sure if that's the case with the original.

I just tested with 2 of my sites and found it seems to be 2 HTTP requests to the site in question for the .com. My tests came from 74.125.75.50, which is in Google's space which makes sense per the article.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.