QUOTE(kamaraju @ Apr 9 2008, 09:19 PM)

What exactly is the website you are referring to? I would like to report to the registrar of that website and take it down first. Selling email addresses of other people without their consent violates the terms and conditions of most registrars.
Hi Raju
the website is h.ttp://fxstyle.net/
they advertise the list now as 238 million emails ...
Please, do you have any comments / can you help with my situation at all?
QUOTE(Farelf @ Apr 9 2008, 09:15 PM)

Just to but in - read the Act per the links. AFAICT it applies to unsolicited commercial email sent from Australia to Australian residents/citizens. Which doesn't sound like "you". Unless you were flogging an immigration service (for commission or for fee) or somesuch? If you were doing that I'm sure the bureacrats would have additional matters to discuss with you.
Maybe a reader has similar experience to share but your (erstwhile) provider is the only person/entity able to actually help. They would want that "mailing system" on your website decommissioned for a start, if they're prepared to do anything at all (the usual approach seems to be a permanent ban but that is just what one hears about, not necessarily what is representative). You were sending spam from your own "server" using their network/one of their IP addresses? That would be contrary to their TOS/AUP/CRA? Was it (the address) listed on various block lists and did it lose reputation points as a consequence? You probably need to know if you caused actual damage before you can approach them properly, also you need to acknowledge what 'rules' you broke if they're to even give you the time of day.
Thank you Farelf, to answer your questions:
1. I did not send to any Australian citizens as far as i know, as you pointed out I aim to avoid them and email my message to users in other nations, particularly those who have large expats in Australia such as Croatians, Lebanese, Turks etc, I steered away from Australians and Americans .. however I can't 100% be sure that not a single Australian citizen received this email.
2. The mailing list has been decommisioned, the entire website is currently unavailable, I won't even think of sending ordinary emails from it again .. if i ever get it online again
3. I guess this means the website is permanently banned?
4. Since I'm new to all this I don't think my IP is listed on other lists (is there any way / website to check for sure?)
5. MY ISP told me that i need to email their admin to resolve this, so they're giving me a bit of hope ..
I just want to know whats going to happen now to:
1. Me (am i in legal trouble?)
2. Is my website now permanently banned?
Thank you so much for your help and time on this
[Farelf edit - url link severed above]