Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: [Resolved] AT&T rejecting email
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Email System & Accounts
silentlarry
AT&T rejecting mail sent via spamcop today for BL reasons (if I'm reading the gibberish right). I get nearly identical errors sending mail from either SC horde webmail, or the SC SMTP server.

[I made some effort to find a related thread, but among other things the forum doesn't like to search for three letter words (att). Perhaps this is somehow related to yesterday's hotmail issue, but then again perhaps not.]

Thanks...


CODE
The following message to <[my PB address]@pacbell.net> was undeliverable.
The reason for the problem:
5.1.0 - Unknown address error 553-'5.3.0 nlpi050 - m751RNYw006028, DNSBL:521< 216.154.195.49 >_is_blocked.__For_information_see_http://att.net/blocks'
Final-Recipient: rfc822;[my PB address]@pacbell.net
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0 (permanent failure)
Remote-MTA: dns; [207.115.37.23]
Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 5.1.0 - Unknown address error 553-'5.3.0 nlpi050 - m751RNYw006028, DNSBL:521< 216.154.195.49 >_is_blocked.__For_information_see_http://att.net/blocks' (delivery attempts: 0)
Reporting-MTA: dns; c60.cesmail.net
DavidT
Confirmed. Just tried sending to PacBell's abuse address and it was immediately rejected with the same error, which is almost identical to the one we're receiving from Hotmail/MSN, making me wonder if they're perhaps using some shared proprietary RBL database.

Someone needs to alert JT - hey Wazoo....you seem to have better luck that the rest of us in getting his attention, so please do what you can to "page JT."

DT
silentlarry
Thanks David.

I'm sure this comes as no surprise, but I have verified my AT&T mail account is rejecting mail as above, even after the following:

Verified "Do not screen my incoming messages for spam." setting was/is selected.
Added my spamcop address to the at&t address book (as white-list test).


Sucks that they apply blocklists with while leading you to believe they are not, and further sucks that apparently no whitelisting is available. mad.gif
Farelf
Message sent to JT.
(Case 30461 assigned)
silentlarry
FTI, Sent a message to my pacbell.net address earlier today and it passed through unmolested.

Yay.
Farelf
QUOTE(silentlarry @ Aug 6 2008, 03:47 AM) *
FTI, Sent a message to my pacbell.net address earlier today and it passed through unmolested.
Thanks for the update.

The temporary listing was most likely due to the spamrun on a SC account mentioned by Trevor in http://forum.spamcop.net/forums/index.php?...ost&p=66012
turetzsr
QUOTE(silentlarry @ Aug 4 2008, 09:38 PM) *
<snip>
[I made some effort to find a related thread, but among other things the forum doesn't like to search for three letter words (att). Perhaps this is somehow related to yesterday's hotmail issue, but then again perhaps not.]
<snip>
...You were using the link labeled "Search" that appears between the links labeled "Help" and "Members," right? Yeah, that one's pretty limited. You might have more luck (perhaps too much luck smile.gif) with the "Search for -->" near the top of the page.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.