Well that is all plain depressing. That is the old-style spam we all used to complain about and seemed unstoppabe due to low volumes, but why should there be trouble enforcing CAN-SPAМ non-compliance against the 'originators' (of the actual mails)? The cheesy domains are traceable to the registrars at least. Isn't that enough? I don't know. And those same email and web-hosting service providers are coming up time and again. For some reason I can't drag up the topic from
but I note the subject of this net has arisen before - RandallW's post about mail and spamvertizement hosting and Mike Easter's reply
From nobody at spamcop.net Sun Jun 4 01:02:40 2006
From: nobody at spamcop.net (RandallW)
Date: Sun Jun 4 03:05:07 2006
Subject: [SpamCop-List] Yipes, Forona, and Swiftco
Message-ID: <e5u0ib$3qi$1[at]news.spamcop.net>
I receive a small daily splurge of spam from an affiliate of
Consumerpromotioncenter.com; the SC parser determines that Yipes.com,
Forona.com, and Swiftco.net host both the e-mail server and webspace where
the spamvertised url is hosted.
Any opinions on these companies' spam policies?
( One SC report I recently sent ):
http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z962880152zdb...246f5044d29c95z From MikeE at ster.invalid Sun Jun 4 03:57:12 2006
From: MikeE at ster.invalid (Mike Easter)
Date: Sun Jun 4 06:00:07 2006
Subject: [SpamCop-List] Re: Yipes, Forona, and Swiftco
References: <e5u0ib$3qi$1[at]news.spamcop.net>
Message-ID: <e5uapj$9i0$1[at]news.spamcop.net>
RandallW wrote:
> I receive a small daily splurge of spam from an affiliate of
> Consumerpromotioncenter.com; the SC parser determines that Yipes.com,
> Forona.com, and Swiftco.net host both the e-mail server and webspace
> where the spamvertised url is hosted.
> Any opinions on these companies' spam policies?
spammer -- spamsource spamvertiser unresponsive spamhaused /22
> ( One SC report I recently sent ):
>
www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z962880152zdb49d2168b8d19ae53246f5044d29c95z
source 204.15.231.227 no rDNS
From: airline-surplus-online.com = MX 204.15.231.225
spamvertiser airline-surplus-online.com
straightup unresponsive spammer/spamvertiser
provider spamhaused all over the place
whois -h whois.arin.net 204.15.231.227 ...
SWIFT VENTURES Inc 204.15.224.0 - 204.15.231.255
OrgTechEmail: abuse[at]swiftco.net
Forona Technologies, 204.15.230.0 - 204.15.231.255
OrgTechEmail: domains[at]forona.com
Forona spamhaused as the /22
204.15.228.0/22 is listed on the Spamhaus Block List
Ref: SBL41952
Spamhaus shows much evidence including spamcop's and also shows the
forona/swift structure for this block and others, and shows that the
AS36263 for forona has the upstream AS6517 YIPESCOM Spamhaus has
numerous other listings for the swiftco/forona, 9 SBLs, including a
ROKSO -- blocks of numerous sizes /22s, /23, /24s etc
The abuse.net reg'd contacts are forona, swiftco, & yipes, which is how
spamcop notifies for source and spamvertiser, so yipes is being informed
of the unresponsiveness of their downstream
--
Mike Easter
kibitzer, not SC admin
(found by Googling). Note they are/were ROKSO listed so, 'Vaster than empires, and more slow' the evidence against them builds but I guess there are worse to deal with first. But note the date of those NG items - Sunday 6 June 2006 f'Pete's sake!
Well, alternative strategies have come and gone, many now think outside of the SC 'box', I'm just wondering whether others 'here' might have some suggestions? What about the KnujOn users, f'rinstance? Any point in reporting this stuff there? FTC reporting? Links at