Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What cnc-noc.net is?
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Reporting Help
daizzzy
At least a month i send reports of such kind:
spam report id 3629914380 sent to: support[at]sdinfo.net
spam report id 3629914381 sent to: abuse[at]cnc-noc.net
/dev/null'ing report for jacobson12#mail.ru[at]devnull.spamcop.net

there're always few other mails, but always cnc-noc. They are the one who send me spam consistently, though i report each time.

Tracking message source: 202.110.217.74:
Routing details for 202.110.217.74
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 202.110.217.74 : ip[at]sdinfo.net
De-referencing ip[at]sdinfo.net
abuse net sdinfo.net = abuse[at]cnc-noc.net, support[at]sdinfo.net
Using best contacts abuse[at]cnc-noc.net support[at]sdinfo.net
Yum, this spam is fresh!
Message is 0 hours old
202.110.217.74 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org
202.110.217.74 not listed in dnsbl.njabl.org
202.110.217.74 listed in cbl.abuseat.org ( 127.0.0.2 )
202.110.217.74 is an open proxy
202.110.217.74 not listed in accredit.habeas.com
202.110.217.74 not listed in plus.bondedsender.org
202.110.217.74 not listed in iadb.isipp.com
Finding links in message body
Recurse multipart:
Parsing text part
Parsing HTML part
Resolving link obfuscation
advocacywomen.com
Host advocacywomen.com (checking ip) = 91.208.228.153
host 91.208.228.153 (getting name) no name
Host advocacywomen.com (checking ip) = 91.208.228.153
host 91.208.228.153 (getting name) no name
Tracking link: advocacywomen.com/
[report history]
Resolves to 91.208.228.153
Routing details for 91.208.228.153
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 91.208.228.153 : jacobson12[at]mail.ru
Using last resort contacts jacobson12[at]mail.ru
jacobson12[at]mail.ru bounces (21 sent : 14 bounces)
Using jacobson12#mail.ru[at]devnull.spamcop.net for statistical tracking.
Reports regarding this spam have already been sent:
Re: 202.110.217.74 (Administrator of network where email originates)
Reportid: 3629914380 To: support[at]sdinfo.net
Reportid: 3629914381 To: abuse[at]cnc-noc.net
Re: advocacywomen.com/ (Administrator of network hosting website referenced in spam)
Reportid: 3629914383 To: jacobson12#mail.ru[at]devnull.spamcop.net
Farelf
QUOTE(daizzzy @ Oct 30 2008, 09:58 PM) *
...there're always few other mails, but always cnc-noc. They are the one who send me spam consistently, though i report each time. ...
CNC is China Netcom, the 'upstream' provider of internet resources to a large proportion of the Chinese network. They are not the actual spammer, they are the spammer's provider's provider. It would be nice if they would send down a few thunderbolts from time to time, to calcinate the unruly, but alas they seem asleep at the wheel. Use the search box at the top of this (or any) forum page to look for other discussions of this thoroughly inscrutable organization's manifest failings.

Here is what the People's Daily had to say about CNC's inception
QUOTE
China Netcom has become the network resource provider for many other basic telecom operators and is the leader of the country's 2,000 ISPs (Internet service providers), according to Qin Jie, general manager of the Carrier and ISP Customers Unit of China Netcom.

Its development and network leasing business have broken China Telecom's monopoly in the field. ...

China Netcom was set up in August 1999 to break China Telecom's monopoly in network resource.

Reports seldom eliminate spam operations, they are a rapid response courtesy 'heads up' to the networks should they wish to enforce their TOS/AUP/CRA before their server is listed and particularly before it comes to the attention of some far tougher blacklists. But reporting contributes to the SCbl - the individual IP addresses tend to get listed and the list can be used to filter ongoing spam from that source. Note that IP is well and truly listed on multiple blacklists now:

http://www.robtex.com/ip/202.110.217.74.html (blacklists tab)

They probably wish they had listened to you now!
daizzzy
thx for such informative reply
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.