Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: ISP does not wish to receive reports regarding
SpamCop Discussion > Discussions & Observations > SpamCop Reporting Help
daizzzy
Is that ok?

http://www.spamcop.net/sc?id=z2391975271z8...90a66158ca2dcez

ISP does not wish to receive report regarding openprotect.com/
Resolves to 216.32.73.251
Routing details for 216.32.73.251
Using smaller IP block (/ 19 vs. / 14 )
Removing 1 larger (> / 19 ) route(s) from cache
[refresh/show] Cached whois for 216.32.73.251 : abuse[at]layeredtech.com
Using abuse net on abuse[at]layeredtech.com
abuse net layeredtech.com = abuse[at]layeredtech.com
Using best contacts abuse[at]layeredtech.com
ISP does not wish to receive reports regarding openprotect.com/ - no date available

Please make sure this email IS spam:
From: "Mrs Cecilia Daniels." <LOTTERY[at]yahoo.co.uk> (File For Claims)
We are notifying you on our Online Draw held on 25/10/08 where your Email
won you the First Prize 6/6 + bonus number the sum of Ј691,514.00 in our
View full message

Report spam to:

Re: 203.162.44.74 (Administrator of network where email originates)
To: tvthuan[at]vnuhcm.edu.vn (Notes)
turetzsr
QUOTE(daizzzy @ Nov 5 2008, 12:50 PM) *
Is that ok?
<snip>
...Sure. If you type the phrase (ending with "regarding") into the search box between the "Search for -->" and "GO" buttons, place quotes around the phrase, then press either of those buttons, you will get a list of SpamCop Forum threads with that phrase and one or more of them will explain further.
SpamCopAdmin
QUOTE(daizzzy @ Nov 5 2008, 11:50 AM) *
ISP does not wish to receive report regarding openprotect.com/
The folks who manage openprotect.com have asked us to not send reports about their web site.

Why do you want to report http://www.openprotect.com/ ? It's not a spam support site.

- Don D'Minion - SpamCop Admin -
.
daizzzy
thank you. maybe i understand something wrong... but i just want to do what SC wants. In this cause SC couldn't report, I'm just wondering why.
DavidT
When I first responded, I hadn't inspected the message linked in the Tracking URL. Now that I have, I wonder....are you using the "Openprotect" tool on your computer? That appears to be a possibility from looking at the headers. If you're using it, or even if the spammer was using it, it's an innocent bystander and shouldn't factor into any reports. The reports in this case should go to the source(s) of the spam (including an ISP in Vietnam), and perhaps even a manual report to MSN regarding the response address...there wasn't any website linked in the spam.

Apparently, the spammer was using a webmail system in Vietnam, but if the first "Received" header is to be trusted, the spammer was connecting to the webmail system from a computer in Nigeria (big surprise) and you could send a manual report to the abuse address for that IP number.

DT
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.